Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th December 2006, 20:36
tsmaudio tsmaudio is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to tsmaudio
Default Page taking along time to load in Firefox

Hi Guys
I have succesfully installed and configured my server using your guides/fedora core 6 & ispconfig. Everythings up and running serving up web pages. When using Firefox I have one particular page that takes a long time to finish loading.

This page contains some php/mysql for a user log in script. This is the only thing that makes it different from the other pages which all load up fine. Also exactly the same page is hosted by a hosting company with no problems at all loading up in any browser from there servers, which are fedora linux. My thoughts are that it must be something in the set up of my server so i was hoping someone might be able to give me a clue?

I have compared php.ini files from the hosting company and my server and set them to the same values, but that has not cured it yet.

Many thanks in advance

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th December 2006, 15:29
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsmaudio
When using Firefox I have one particular page that takes a long time to finish loading.
Does it also happen with other browsers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsmaudio
This page contains some php/mysql for a user log in script. This is the only thing that makes it different from the other pages which all load up fine.
Any errors in Apache's error log?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsmaudio
Also exactly the same page is hosted by a hosting company with no problems at all loading up in any browser from there servers, which are fedora linux.
Is it maybe a DNS problem (domain name pointing to the hosting company's server instead of yours)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th December 2006, 17:06
tsmaudio tsmaudio is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to tsmaudio
Default

Hi Falko
Thanks for your reply

It seems to be a problem with Firefox & Netscape only. It is all fine in IE6.
My server DNS is not pointing to my hosting company in any way , i have just put the same site on my local server to see how it performs as a comparison.

I am sorry for being such a nube, but where is the apache log file on a fedora 6 & ispconfig set up.

Tony.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th December 2006, 18:24
tsmaudio tsmaudio is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to tsmaudio
Default

I found the apache error log file.

I seem to have this error repeating allot

[error] an unknown filter was not added: PHP



that sounds like a clue...?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th December 2006, 18:31
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,033
Thanks: 261
Thanked 150 Times in 130 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsmaudio
I found the apache error log file.

I seem to have this error repeating allot

[error] an unknown filter was not added: PHP
that sounds like a clue...?
Have a look here

However, this is not your problem (I think).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th December 2006, 19:57
tsmaudio tsmaudio is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to tsmaudio
Default

Hi edge

I have made those changes in ispconfig but like you said, it is not the cause of my problem. So I am still struggling with it...

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th December 2006, 14:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsmaudio
It seems to be a problem with Firefox & Netscape only. It is all fine in IE6.
So I guess this is caused by some Firefox plugins. Can you disable them one by one and test again?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th December 2006, 14:49
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,033
Thanks: 261
Thanked 150 Times in 130 Posts
Default

Is it only on your system that it's slow, or also with other "Firefox" users?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th December 2006, 20:22
tsmaudio tsmaudio is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to tsmaudio
Default

Hi Guys
I have had a few people try to connect to this page on my local server over the weekend and it seems that they are having the same issue using Firefox 1.5.xx. The problem is not there in Firefox 2! The problem still exists in Netscape.

The bit that I find strange is that the same page loads ok from the remote hosting companies servers (Haisoft) in any browser and any version.

This is what lead me to believe it was a configuration setting on my local server.

Very strange!

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th December 2006, 14:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

And there are no more errors in Apache's error log?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Availability (Load Balancing) behind a firewall geek.de.nz Server Operation 7 4th January 2011 13:58
Centos 4.4 32bit Hangs, High Server load 3cwired_com Server Operation 11 16th November 2006 15:47
Howto suggestion suse PhP ver 4 + Ver 5 wwparrish Suggest HOWTO 11 7th August 2006 13:29
The page cannot be displayed on Port: 81 nysprite Installation/Configuration 1 21st June 2006 11:42
Can you load balance all ISPConfig Services, including Apache? Jcorrea920 General 6 9th June 2006 23:07


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.