#1  
Old 5th December 2006, 05:34
damon damon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Which domain should i use?

Hello,
I have installed Ubuntu 6.06 by following the howto. Everything went well.

Immediately after finishing the tutorial, and before playing with any configs or settings, I installed ISPConfig. After a few failed install attempts it worked OK. I got to the part of the install where you are asked to
Quote:
Please enter the host name: E.g. www
Please enter the domain: E.g. xyz.de
I have 2 domains registered. yyy.com and zzz.net. yyy.com is current being hosted by another company, and zzz.net is the one i want to host on this new server setup. So, when I was asked to enter the domain, i entered zzz.net. But this didn't work, the site could not be reached.

So instead, I entered yyy.com, which seemed to work OK. But at the end of the installation, I was told to access the ISPConfig control panel via yyy.com:81 but that of course doesn't work.

Have I done things in the wrong order? How can I fix this?

Any advice would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th December 2006, 10:55
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
 
Default

You ust use a domain during install that points to your server.

You can access the controlpanel with the IP on port 81 and change the domain name under manegement > server > settings.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
domain alias? farao General 2 30th August 2006 23:58
ISP Services wouldn't restart any service, possibly Domain Host configuration issue. Kamran Shah Installation/Configuration 20 17th August 2006 18:33
Domain Change in website Jose Gosalbez Installation/Configuration 15 19th July 2006 13:38
Server Not Autorative for Domain Error drbista Installation/Configuration 10 20th December 2005 17:41
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 16:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.