Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th October 2005, 02:25
Lil'Brudder Lil'Brudder is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question What should hostname be?

Sorry if this is a no-brainer question, I've been running a windows server for years and this is my first real attempt at converting to Linux.

I'm using Fedora Core 4 and following The Perfect Setup - Fedora Core 4 and have a question about the hostname and how it affects ISPConfig.

During Fedora installation setup, the instructions say:

Code:
Set the hostname manually, e.g. server1.example.com, and enter a gateway (e.g. 192.168.0.1) and up to three DNS servers (e.g. 145.253.2.75 and 193.174.32.18):
Should this be set to ie. 'www' or should this be set to ie. 'www.domain.com'?

Then, later in the same installation instructions, after Fedora has been installed and we're configuring it, it says:

Code:
Setting The Hostname

echo server1.example.com > /etc/hostname 
/bin/hostname -F /etc/hostname
The reason I'm asking is because later, during the ISPConfig installation, it also asks to set the hostname

Code:
Please enter the host name: E.g. www
Please enter the domain: E.g. xyz.de
But, it also asks to set the domain name... so, I'm confused because if you use www.domain.com in the fedora hostname then, if you use the same naming convention, aren't you effectively setting hostname/domain name to www.domain.com.domain.com?

Also, after considering this further, does the fedora hostname configuration have to be the same as the ISPConfig hostname configuration?

Can I set the Fedora hostname to be 'server' and then the ISPConfig hostname to be 'www' and the domain name to be domain.com?

I know this is a technical question and maybe a no-brainer, but for some reason, this issue has affected my previous installations in ways I didn't expect and just want to understand how it works.

Thanks,
Lil'Brudder

Last edited by Lil'Brudder; 17th October 2005 at 02:58.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th October 2005, 09:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil'Brudder
I'm using Fedora Core 4 and following The Perfect Setup - Fedora Core 4 and have a question about the hostname and how it affects ISPConfig.

During Fedora installation setup, the instructions say:

Code:
Set the hostname manually, e.g. server1.example.com, and enter a gateway (e.g. 192.168.0.1) and up to three DNS servers (e.g. 145.253.2.75 and 193.174.32.18):
Should this be set to ie. 'www' or should this be set to ie. 'www.domain.com'?
www.domain.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil'Brudder
Code:
Please enter the host name: E.g. www
Please enter the domain: E.g. xyz.de
But, it also asks to set the domain name...
The host name would be www, the domain name domain.com.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil'Brudder
Also, after considering this further, does the fedora hostname configuration have to be the same as the ISPConfig hostname configuration?
No, you only have to make sure that the host name/domain combination you enter during the ISPConfig installation exists in DNS and can be pinged, otherwise the installer stops. If you have no DNS entry, then leave the host name empty and enter your IP address as domain.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil'Brudder
Can I set the Fedora hostname to be 'server' and then the ISPConfig hostname to be 'www' and the domain name to be domain.com?
The Fedora host name should be server.domain.com, not just server. The naming conventions differ a little bit between Fedora and ISPConfig.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th October 2005, 10:08
Lil'Brudder Lil'Brudder is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

That makes everything clear.

Thanks falco!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filtering emails using Spamassassin and Clamav for Exchange 2000 Server Rocky Server Operation 19 11th March 2008 08:27
question about hostname and domain Ovidiu Installation/Configuration 26 8th March 2006 10:56
Server Hostname and IPSConfig Lil'Brudder Installation/Configuration 2 14th October 2005 12:46
Setting The Hostname dranieri HOWTO-Related Questions 2 13th September 2005 12:43
Changing Hostname MyLinux General 1 5th September 2005 07:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.