#1  
Old 27th November 2006, 14:25
tsmaudio tsmaudio is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to tsmaudio
Default SuSe linux 9.3 problem with apt

Hi, thanks for the reply to my email Falko.
I have posted my question as you suggested.

The main problem I am having is that apt won't update itself. The link in the sources list is.....rpm ftp://ftp.gwdg.de/pub/linux/suse/apt/ SuSE/9.3-i386 base update security

It comes up with errors or just hangs like it is trying to connect to the server but can't.

is there another link that will replace this one as I have been trying for days and the problem is the same.

I will admit that this is my first venture into linux and servers, but I have already followed your how to once already, which is brilliant!! and everything worked first time. This is a re-install from scratch and now I have this problem which is frustrating, any help would be very much appreciated.

cheers
Tony
Uk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th November 2006, 15:49
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

What's in /etc/apt/sources.list, and what's the exact error message you're getting?

It's possible that the repositories don't work anymore because SuSE 9.3 is pretty old.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th November 2006, 03:40
tsmaudio tsmaudio is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to tsmaudio
Default fedora core 6 + ispconfig newbie help

Hi
Thanks for your response.
I have sacked Suse 9.3 and gone for fedora core 6 with Ispconfig.
I followed the how to install a LAMP server with fedora core 6 and everything is working fine at the moment and is much better. I hope you can give me some guidance as I am a total newbie to this ..sorry!

The server is behind a router on 192.168.0.100 the same as your tutorial and I am getting the Fedora test page up in the browser ok on this IP and via http://www.mydomain.com. I then create a new client in ispconfig and then add a new site (no resellers needed)...so I can ftp up my pages...is this correct?

In the new site page it asks for the domain and then the IP address.. is the IP address I should put here the same for all sites I add (i.e 192.168.0.100) or does each site have to be on a different IP address. If so how do i go about that? In the tutorial it mentions adding extra IP's but I wasn't sure if I needed any.

I did get this far before but while using Ispconfig, Bind went off and i couldn't restart it, I couldn't fix the problem so I re-installed from scratch. I thought I might have done somethig wrong, so any advise at this stage would be very much appreciated. I have read the Ispconfig manual but it doesn't explain this part clearly. I realise its a steep learning curve for a newbie!

Thanks again
Tony.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th November 2006, 09:20
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,386
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,485 Times in 4,317 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsmaudio
The server is behind a router on 192.168.0.100 the same as your tutorial and I am getting the Fedora test page up in the browser ok on this IP and via http://www.mydomain.com. I then create a new client in ispconfig and then add a new site (no resellers needed)...so I can ftp up my pages...is this correct?
Yes. Make sure you select your internal IP address in the website settings.

Quote:
In the new site page it asks for the domain and then the IP address.. is the IP address I should put here the same for all sites I add (i.e 192.168.0.100) or does each site have to be on a different IP address. If so how do i go about that? In the tutorial it mentions adding extra IP's but I wasn't sure if I needed any.
It can be the same IP for all sites. Only if you need SSL encryption, you need a dedicated IP for every SSL enabled site.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st December 2006, 16:53
tsmaudio tsmaudio is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to tsmaudio
 
Smile just to say thanks

Hi guys
Just a quick line to say thanks for your help.

Everything is working a treat!

Cheers

Tony.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems installing NForce4 sound drivers Wraithfire Installation/Configuration 21 16th April 2006 17:30
KErnel not showing all my memory Jorem Kernel Questions 8 13th April 2006 12:59
The Perfect Setup - SUSE 9.3/Install apt For SUSE PROBLEM gimhan90 Installation/Configuration 13 27th January 2006 09:34
Which Apt files to use for Suse 10.0 ? (perfect Suse 9.3) alphenit HOWTO-Related Questions 4 17th January 2006 13:37
Apt for rpm: SuSE 9.3 steve HOWTO-Related Questions 2 12th May 2005 16:54


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.