Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th July 2010, 10:23
savy2k savy2k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 53
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default My users can only FTP using SFTP

I have had this problem since I installed ISPConfig. Noone can FTP in to their account except through SFTP. That's no big deal to me but most of my customers don't even know what that is. Those that do use a FTP client that doesn't support SFTP. This is a thorn I would love to have removed.

As always, gratitude a plenty.
Randy

Oops, I almost forgot.
Redhat 9.0
ISPConfig 2.2.27
Installed using Perfect Server instructions from Falko

Last edited by savy2k; 30th July 2010 at 10:25.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th July 2010, 11:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

SFTP is a protocol that belongs to the SSH and not FTP server. So most likely the FTP server is not running.

Please post the output of:

netstat -tap | grep ftp
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th July 2010, 16:22
savy2k savy2k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 53
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

[root@athena ~]# netstat -tap | grep ftp
tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN 8454/proftpd: (acce

I can ftp using the webFTP but not using a FTP client.

Last edited by savy2k; 30th July 2010 at 16:28.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th July 2010, 18:51
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Quote:
I can ftp using the webFTP but not using a FTP client.
Ok. This is a very good information as this means that there rea no issues with the FTP server. If webFTP works (which is a normal FTP client) but no external clients, then there is a firewall problem.

Please try to use active and passive FTP with the external FTP client.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st July 2010, 00:43
savy2k savy2k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 53
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I looked all through my iptables and I pasted the only reference to FTP below.

PAROLE tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp dpt:ftp

I don't know what it means by PAROLE.

Oh, BTW, I tried using passive mode but no luck

Last edited by savy2k; 31st July 2010 at 00:55.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st July 2010, 06:50
savy2k savy2k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 53
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Til, I was just thinking. It's not like I can't connect to the server using FTP I just can't authenticate. Geez, I'm sorry I should have mention that earlier. I don't know what I was thinking. That clearly changes everything. I assure you the last thing I want to do is waste your time.

Randy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31st July 2010, 09:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Please try active and passive FTP.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st July 2010, 14:50
savy2k savy2k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 53
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I just tried both active and passive mode and I get the same result with either one.

I don't understand why there is nothing in the FTP log. Shouldn't something show up somewhere from the attempts I have made to login?

Last edited by savy2k; 31st July 2010 at 15:08.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31st July 2010, 15:31
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Maybe there's something in auth.log.
Also, I'd try to switch off the firewall for testing purposes.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31st July 2010, 17:23
savy2k savy2k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 53
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Well, I typed the following commands

# service iptables save
# service iptables stop
# chkconfig iptables off

I still wasn't able to login using Xproftp

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow download from own FTP (vsftpd + proftpd) Overcrook Installation/Configuration 0 12th January 2010 21:41
Cacti and ISPConfig: Monitoring Tool VMartins Tips/Tricks/Mods 11 9th August 2008 18:37
proFTPd passive mode problems bisbell Server Operation 8 6th August 2008 21:12
Question about Virtual Hosting With Proftpd And MySQL (Incl. Quota) On Debian Etch ikkem HOWTO-Related Questions 30 26th February 2008 19:38
Junk mail and spamassassin... sthompson Installation/Configuration 4 27th December 2006 16:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.