#1  
Old 23rd November 2006, 16:04
toolish toolish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Smile Hostname to use and which dist?

Hi howto'ers,

Firstly thanks for passing on your knowledge in these guides.

I have a couple of questions if any one has some time.

I followed the howto for a perfect Fedora core 4 install with ispconfig. All went well and i'm left with a nice system. With the hostname part I didn't have a registered domain spare at the time so I made up mars.servery.com. Then I noticed that the system is trying to send mail to root@servery.com... not too good.
So my question is two parts,what should I use as the hostname if I don't have a registered domain?
Also I read on aboutdebian.com that you shouldn't use your domain as the hostname because it is a security risk. Therefore if I register a domain,for example mydomain.com,what should I set the hostname to? I do intend it to be publically available in a non production sense once the domain is registered.
One last question if I may,which Fedora dist is best for this job, the latest 6 or is better to stick with 4?

Thanks for anyones help. I am grateful.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th November 2006, 11:56
torusturtle torusturtle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 21
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to torusturtle Send a message via AIM to torusturtle
Default

maybe it helps if you set the hostname to 'localhost'
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th November 2006, 14:15
toolish toolish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Thanks very much for your help. It seems obvious now that you say it.

So if I setup a domain name with a dynamic dns service I would set the hostname to servername.mydomain.com?

Please excuse the obvious questions!
Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th November 2006, 16:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toolish
So if I setup a domain name with a dynamic dns service I would set the hostname to servername.mydomain.com?
Yes, but servername.mydomain.com should exist in DNS. Also, it's good to use a "technical" domain for hostnames, i.e. a domain that you don't use for web hosting, email, etc. That's how I do it on my servers. Never had problems with this.

Quote:
One last question if I may,which Fedora dist is best for this job, the latest 6 or is better to stick with 4?
I'd go with 6 as 4 is pretty old now and I don't know until when updates will be available.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th November 2006, 18:33
toolish toolish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Many thanks Falko, it is appreciated. Thanks for your howto's too.

Do you still get the benefits of choosing a 'technical' domain for your hostname if you are using a dynamic dns service and your webhosting domain and 'technical' domain resolve to the same ip address?
Or is the idea to have them on 2 different public ip addresses?

Thank you...it's all clicking into place!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th November 2006, 14:54
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toolish
Do you still get the benefits of choosing a 'technical' domain for your hostname if you are using a dynamic dns service and your webhosting domain and 'technical' domain resolve to the same ip address?
Yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by toolish
Or is the idea to have them on 2 different public ip addresses?
It doesn't matter.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th November 2006, 01:20
toolish toolish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
 
Default

Thanks Falko!

All sorted now. Your advice was very helpful
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.