#1  
Old 21st November 2006, 15:27
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default Building a cluster

Hi everyone!

This is my first post on this forum. This site helped me a lot in learning how to install and configure a Linux system.
I would like to build a server with dns,apache(php,mysql etc.),smtp,pop3,imap,ispconfig etc. according to a howto posted on this site.
I prefer OpenSuSE for my server software. The problem i will probably have in the near future will be effeciency. My server may be overloaded and my users unhappy.My suggestion is to write a howto on building a cluster out of a coupple of computers based on the howto which described installing dns,apache(mysql and php),pop3,smtp,ispconfig on OpenSuSE 10.1.
This would be very usefull.
Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd November 2006, 16:17
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,727 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

There are a few cluster tutorials available here (although for Debian). Anyway, I can't recommend using OpenSuSE 10.1 for a server. In my experience it's too buggy.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd November 2006, 16:09
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

Thanks for a quick reply.I prefer OpenSuSE because it's a good system for me as a beginner.I try to learn as much as possible about it.PLease keep in mind my suggestion.Bye.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th December 2006, 14:53
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

What kind of bugs in OpenSuSE do You mean Falko ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th December 2006, 13:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,727 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

YaST is pretty buggy. Read this tutorial: http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_suse_10.1 and you'll understand what I mean.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th December 2006, 16:10
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default Yast

I know what you mean but the option "Update Name Servers and Search List via DHCP" can be changed after the installation with Yast so it's not to bad.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st December 2006, 18:35
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,727 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

YaST is also really slow on SuSE 10.1 (I mean really slow).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th January 2007, 13:02
zcworld zcworld is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Australia
Posts: 329
Thanks: 2
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
Send a message via MSN to zcworld Send a message via Skype™ to zcworld
 
Default

i think they need to rewrite the yast
its nice what you can do via the yast
but about 10 or so secs to load .. it a tab long
when you have gotta go back in there like 30 secs later
to do something again


but for what you want
is something where you install what you need and thats it
try like an BSD www.openbsd.org or www.freebsd.org or slackware
where you pick what you want to be installed

but if you want to use ispconfig on it
than im not sure if you can or not
i dont think i seen an howto
but maybe its supports them OS as well

the ones like your opensuse / fedora is a more of a mix of both worlds
privte : www / mysql / ftp / irc / other with an desktop
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mysql cluster issues. elguapo Server Operation 2 2nd November 2006 12:46
MySQL Cluster On FC5 : error while unpacking from engine asyadiqin HOWTO-Related Questions 7 28th October 2006 17:37
Loadbalanced Apache Cluster Help brianwebb01 Installation/Configuration 2 18th October 2006 17:01
Load-Balanced MySQL Cluster Error with Cluster stylez HOWTO-Related Questions 12 1st October 2006 04:55
Install ISPConfig to Cluster ? fofan Installation/Configuration 1 16th November 2005 19:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.