Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th October 2005, 02:01
sushestvo sushestvo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default After ISPConfig installed - Disk Partition

I have two questions after install.
First, in Management > Server > Settings > DNS
what should I have for NS1 and NS2?
Server is on domain like 'server.mydomain.com'
So for NS1 and NS2 should I create ns1.mydomain.com and ns2.mydomain.com and point my 2 IPs to them? And then input ns1.mydomain.com and ns2.mydomain.com into DNS under ISPConfig?
Second question.
When I look at server status, I see place for Disk partitions and it has:
/dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00 - which has no space, avail or % - pretty much everything is empty.
What is that?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th October 2005, 13:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,009
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sushestvo
I have two questions after install.
First, in Management > Server > Settings > DNS
what should I have for NS1 and NS2?
Server is on domain like 'server.mydomain.com'
So for NS1 and NS2 should I create ns1.mydomain.com and ns2.mydomain.com and point my 2 IPs to them? And then input ns1.mydomain.com and ns2.mydomain.com into DNS under ISPConfig?
NS1 must be a domain that points to your primary nameserver and NS2 a domain that points to your secondary nameserver. Normally primary and secondary nameserver are not located on the same server.

Quote:
Second question.
When I look at server status, I see place for Disk partitions and it has:
/dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00 - which has no space, avail or % - pretty much everything is empty.
What is that?
Maybe the format of the linux command is different when using volume groups and so the output of the webpage is not correct.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th October 2005, 14:24
sushestvo sushestvo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, I have probably last question.
If I'm going to buy 3rd IP from my ISP, is there any way to create a web-site under my ISPConfig for that specific IP? Because one of my web-sites I want to be on separate IP than everything else, but still on the same server.
How do I go about this?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th October 2005, 15:21
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,009
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Thats no problem. You cann add as many IP's as you want under Management > Server > Settings in ISPConfig and select for each website which IP it shall use.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th October 2005, 15:39
sushestvo sushestvo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thank you for your help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to open ISPConfig Web neu2linux Installation/Configuration 27 25th May 2006 15:09
ISPconfig 2.0.9 fails on openSuse 10 rc1 AlexCunha Installation/Configuration 3 27th September 2005 05:23
ISPConfig ProFTPD changes? ProTrooper Installation/Configuration 3 9th September 2005 19:13
Changing values on ISPConfig installation Luciano Installation/Configuration 4 17th August 2005 00:32
Little problems setting up the ISPConfig Luciano Installation/Configuration 1 15th August 2005 21:17


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.