#1  
Old 19th November 2006, 14:01
carlainz carlainz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default outlook configuration

hi in my fedora 5 64 bit i have installed ispconfig with this howto http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_se...dora_core_5_p5 , with squirell mail
all work fine i can send and receive email whit my domain .
But i need to configure outlook , i have one question , in the fields pop3 and smtp , what I must insert?
i have try with pop3.mydomain.com and smtp.mydomain.com , but doesn't work .

thank
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th November 2006, 14:14
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

in those fields you have to insert the IP / DNS of your Server.
If you did not split up pop3 / smtp to different servers, both are the same.

In your case pop3.mydomain.com as well as smtp.mydomain.com have to point to the ip of your server. But you can safely insert any other dns-name pointing to your servers IP or the IP directly.
To verify to what your client resolves the DNS, run sth. like

nslookup DNSNAME (Windows / Linux (deprecated) )
dig DNSNAME (Linux / Windows with Linuxutils)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th November 2006, 14:30
carlainz carlainz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi ,
i have try to put my ip in this fields but it's the same , doesn't work.
if i try to ping smtp.mydomain.com or pop3.mydomain.com i see my ip .
i have try in my server fedora dig DNSNAME
this is the answer :

[root@mydomain ~]# dig DNSNAME

; <<>> DiG 9.3.3rc2 <<>> DNSNAME
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 54286
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;DNSNAME. IN A

;; Query time: 1 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.100.11#53(192.168.100.11)
;; WHEN: Sun Nov 19 14:22:10 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 25


thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th November 2006, 16:34
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

And what kind of error do you get? Normally Outlook gives an errormsg.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th November 2006, 17:09
carlainz carlainz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i have this

Your server has unexpectedly terminated the connection. Possible causes for this include server problems, network problems, or a long period of inactivity. Account: 'mydomain mail', Server: '151.x.x.x', Protocol: POP3, Port: 110, Secure(SSL): No, Socket Error: 10053, Error Number: 0x800CCC0F

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th November 2006, 08:29
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

could you post the output of

tail -f /var/log/maillog

while trying to access via Outlook?

beside this, authentication for both sending and receiving mail is activated?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th November 2006, 13:13
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,716 Times in 2,558 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlainz
hi ,
i have try to put my ip in this fields but it's the same , doesn't work.
if i try to ping smtp.mydomain.com or pop3.mydomain.com i see my ip .
i have try in my server fedora dig DNSNAME
this is the answer :

[root@mydomain ~]# dig DNSNAME

; <<>> DiG 9.3.3rc2 <<>> DNSNAME
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 54286
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;DNSNAME. IN A

;; Query time: 1 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.100.11#53(192.168.100.11)
;; WHEN: Sun Nov 19 14:22:10 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 25


thanks
I don't see an ANSWER SECTION here which means that pop3.mydomain.com and smtp.mydomain.com don't exist. Please post your real domain name here.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th November 2006, 18:44
TimeKeeper TimeKeeper is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to TimeKeeper
 
Default pop mail account name

I had the same error message on my clients' outlook account setup. The error was NOT in the server names but in the account name.
You need to use the server's account naming convention, like web2_joe for joe@yourdomain.com.

Sine I adapted my setup instructions to that, I have not received a call for setup support or a client not receiving their mail

I hope this helps,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loading configuration file lance Kernel Questions 2 28th February 2007 20:40
problem in cpan configuration reply me Urgent faiqmahmoodch Installation/Configuration 1 27th August 2006 16:58
Postfix Installation and Configuration akomaoako2k Installation/Configuration 1 31st July 2006 09:08
ispconfig and mambo shajazzi Installation/Configuration 70 28th March 2006 19:29
ISPConfig pop3 problem mphayesuk General 21 31st October 2005 10:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.