
11th November 2006, 20:06
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 210
Thanks: 37
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
TPS FC4, mail server abused to send spam?
Hello.
I used the exelent how to guide on your pages to setup a web/mail server.
The server is setup with an official IP adress, so no NAT or firewall protects it.
Just the firewall in ISPConfig (erverything is set up as in the tutorial).
I`m worried that my server is used as a "spam server".
I`ve been locking at the logs, but I`m not shore what to loock for etc.
Is there any way to see what messages are beeing sent out from my server, from witch adress, subject, reciever, IP adr etc.
I`would really like some help with this.
|

12th November 2006, 16:12
|
|
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,685
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,601 Times in 2,450 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Hagforce
Is there any way to see what messages are beeing sent out from my server, from witch adress, subject, reciever, IP adr etc.
|
It's all in your mail log. If you have lots of activity there that could be a sign of spam (unless your mail server is usually busy anyway). You can also check the mail queue:
If you see lots of mails there, this could also be a sign of spam abuse.
Then you can check of your server is blacklisted:
http://www.mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx
Also make sure that your mynetworks setting allows unauthenticated sending only from localhost. What's the output of
Code:
postconf -d | grep mynetworks
and
Code:
postconf -n | grep mynetworks
?
|

12th November 2006, 21:13
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 210
Thanks: 37
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
Code:
[root@www ~]# postconf -n | grep mynetworks
mynetworks = 127.0.0.0/8
smtpd_recipient_restrictions = permit_sasl_authenticated,permit_mynetworks,reject_unauth_destination
Code:
[root@www ~]# postconf -d | grep mynetworks
mynetworks = 127.0.0.0/8 85.118.78.0/24
mynetworks_style = subnet
parent_domain_matches_subdomains = debug_peer_list,fast_flush_domains,mynetworks,permit_mx_backup_networks,qmqpd_authorized_clients,relay_domains,smtpd_access_maps
proxy_read_maps = $local_recipient_maps $mydestination $virtual_alias_maps $virtual_alias_domains $virtual_mailbox_maps $virtual_mailbox_domains $relay_recipient_maps $relay_domains $canonical_maps $sender_canonical_maps $recipient_canonical_maps $relocated_maps $transport_maps $mynetworks
smtpd_client_event_limit_exceptions = ${smtpd_client_connection_limit_exceptions:$mynetworks}
smtpd_recipient_restrictions = permit_mynetworks, reject_unauth_destination
My mail log is very large, but I got over 400 mail users on my server....
The postqueue -p also contains a lot of mails, and with adresses I do not use as vbhnuz@static47.bane-cust.com, static47.bane-cust.com is a dns for the IP on the server I think???
Is all the mails in the log actualy sent?.
I`m not blacklisted, but this does not lock good.
Last edited by Hagforce; 12th November 2006 at 21:16.
|

13th November 2006, 16:23
|
|
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,685
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,601 Times in 2,450 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Hagforce
Code:
[root@www ~]# postconf -n | grep mynetworks
mynetworks = 127.0.0.0/8
smtpd_recipient_restrictions = permit_sasl_authenticated,permit_mynetworks,reject_unauth_destination
|
This looks good.
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Hagforce
My mail log is very large, but I got over 400 mail users on my server....
The postqueue -p also contains a lot of mails, and with adresses I do not use as vbhnuz@static47.bane-cust.com, static47.bane-cust.com is a dns for the IP on the server I think???
|
What's your server's IP address? What's the output of
Code:
dig -x your_ip_address
?
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Hagforce
Is all the mails in the log actualy sent?.
|
This is recorded also in the mail log.
|

13th November 2006, 18:10
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 210
Thanks: 37
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
output of "dig -x your_ip_address"
Code:
;; ANSWER SECTION:
47.78.118.85.in-addr.arpa. 86400 IN PTR static47.bane-cust.com.
|

14th November 2006, 15:10
|
|
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,685
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,601 Times in 2,450 Posts
|
|
So static47.bane-cust.com is your server, and Postfix translates local domains to static47.bane-cust.com. that's why you see this domain in your mail log. That's the ususal behaviour, there's nothing wrong with it.
|

16th January 2007, 23:26
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 210
Thanks: 37
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
Ok, now I`m sure the server is used to send spam.
Mail log is getting wery wery big.
Also que.
Guess it`s brute force password guessing....
How can I see witch account the spam is beeing sent from (not e-mail account but autenticated smtp account).
Is there any way to filter outgoing mail from postfix, to take care of the worst?
I guess some users have changed to week passwords in mailuser setup, is there any way to set a strong password policy in ispconfig so they dont do this?
I really need help now before I get blacklisted and things get out of hand
|

17th January 2007, 21:37
|
|
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,685
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,601 Times in 2,450 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Hagforce
How can I see witch account the spam is beeing sent from (not e-mail account but autenticated smtp account).
|
I think all you can do is take a look at the mail log.
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Hagforce
Is there any way to filter outgoing mail from postfix, to take care of the worst?
|
You can set up amavisd-new with Postfix. amavisd-new scans incoming and outgoing emails.
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Hagforce
I guess some users have changed to week passwords in mailuser setup, is there any way to set a strong password policy in ispconfig so they dont do this?
|
No.
|

18th January 2007, 14:31
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 210
Thanks: 37
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
Thank you again falco (as always  )
The mail log doesn`t tell me what IP the messages is being sent from, what user account etc... So with my limeted skills I can`t read mutch out of it.
Is there any way to set that one account only can send 100 e-mails per houer or something like that, and if it sends more I get an alert so that I can change the password.....
Maybe another solution you could reccomend?
What does this config do: http://www.spamcop.net/fom-serve/cache/349.html
This is for relaying right? And would not help in this case..?
All the how to`s and guides I find consentrate on stopping incoming spam.
On this front I got a nice solution with ISPConfig and spamassasin, clam etc.
Any (noob) howtos you can reccomend on this?
I hate the fackt that my server is used to send even more spam out in the world
Last edited by Hagforce; 18th January 2007 at 14:40.
|

19th January 2007, 22:08
|
|
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,685
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,601 Times in 2,450 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Hagforce
Is there any way to set that one account only can send 100 e-mails per houer or something like that, and if it sends more I get an alert so that I can change the password.....
|
I'm sure there is, but I can't remember one right now...
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Hagforce
|
IT's for checking emails if they are on a blacklist. If they are they are rejected before they even enter the system, thus reducing the system load.
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Hagforce
Any (noob) howtos you can reccomend on this?
|
I don't have a tutorial for this, but you could try amavisd-new.
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:19.
|
|
Recent comments
4 hours 9 min ago
9 hours 1 min ago
17 hours 54 min ago
18 hours 54 min ago
22 hours 40 min ago
23 hours 55 min ago
1 day 3 hours ago
1 day 10 hours ago
1 day 19 hours ago
1 day 21 hours ago