#1  
Old 10th October 2005, 14:44
Paul Paul is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Moscow
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Paul
Default After setup...

I have install Sarge using instructions from http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_debian_sarge, everything was great! And when I try to edit file /etc/network/interfaces/, I've get the magic answer: Permission denied! When I try call other files, I haven't other answer. What's this problem? Root have full permissions default, but system say me "get out!" Why?
Serriously, how can I to continue my work?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th October 2005, 15:12
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,401
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,493 Times in 4,324 Posts
Default

Please try first the command "su" to go to root (and to make shure your really root).
Then use an editor like "vi" to edit the config file. It was reported taht some other editors (mostly KDE or Gnome GUI Editors) are giving permission denied errors on files even for the root user.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th October 2005, 16:17
hilton hilton is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You could also just use pico.

It's much easier than vi but die-hard vi-ers will most probably argue with me.

Cheers
Hilton
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th October 2005, 08:16
Paul Paul is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Moscow
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Paul
Default

Thanks, guys! I can do it using pico or nano. But I'm very yung linuxoid. Wait for more questions from me, OK?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th October 2005, 14:13
Paul Paul is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Moscow
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Paul
Default

If I use 2 network adaptors (eth0 for Internet, eth1 for LAN), should I type all IP-addresses etc. in file /etc/network/interfaces or create different files?

Last edited by Paul; 11th October 2005 at 14:17.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th October 2005, 14:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul
If I use 2 network adaptors (eth0 for Internet, eth1 for LAN), should I type all IP-addresses etc. in file /etc/network/interfaces or create different files?
No, it's still /etc/network/interfaces. You have sections in it for lo and eth0, so simply create a new section for eth1.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th October 2005, 15:35
Paul Paul is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Moscow
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Paul
Default

And as gateway for eth1 sould I set the IP of eth0? (i will use this mashine as gateway LAN - Internet)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th October 2005, 18:54
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul
And as gateway for eth1 sould I set the IP of eth0? (i will use this mashine as gateway LAN - Internet)
Hm, I think you have to do that with iptables rules. Maybe you should google for something like "Debian router howto" or so...
If you only need that box as a router, then I'd recommend that you install IPCop on it. http://www.ipcop.org/
Easy to install, and very secure.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th October 2005, 07:36
Paul Paul is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Moscow
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Paul
Default

Sorry, last question was incorrect. I found solution alrady
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th October 2005, 17:37
Paul Paul is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Moscow
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Paul
 
Default

I have edit /etc/network/interfaces so:

#The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

#The orimary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address <external IP of my box>
netmask 255.255.255.240
network <IP of external network>
broadcast <broadcast IP of external network>
gateway <IP of provider's router>
# dns-* options are implemented by The resolconf package, if installed
dns-nameservers 127.0.0.1
dns-search <mydomain>
#The secondary network interface
auto eth1
iface eth1 inet static
address 192.1668.5.5
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.5.0

And where I restart networking, I get:

Setting up IP spoofing protection: rp_filter.
Reconfiguring network interfaces...ifup: interface lo already configured
eth0: link down
SIOCSIFADDR: no such device
eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device
eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
Failed to bring up eth1.
done.

Device is good, physical installed, by setup and lspci detected.
Maybe file is incorrect?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
step-by-step DNS Setup for ISPConfig!?! bolinux Installation/Configuration 3 31st May 2011 21:18
Fedora Core 4 - The Perfect Setup nandhu HOWTO-Related Questions 27 10th January 2006 12:23
Xandros Server Setup and Games neu2linux Suggest HOWTO 0 6th October 2005 15:22
Suse 9.3 setup probs with php5 hyperclock Tips/Tricks/Mods 0 21st September 2005 02:34
Which IP's to use for ISPConfig setup skeeta Installation/Configuration 3 4th September 2005 08:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.