Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11th October 2005, 21:09
amdserver amdserver is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What should I set my hostname to?

Quote:
Typing in this command from the prompt.
echo server1.example.com > /etc/hostname
/bin/hostname -F /etc/hostname
Since my domain is my IP, should I get set it to my IP address?

I installed phpmyadmin, But I get this error when I log in:
Quote:
The mbstring PHP extension was not found and you seem to be using a multibyte charset. Without the mbstring extension phpMyAdmin is unable to split strings correctly and it may result in unexpected results.
Also, What must else I do in order for my server to be publicly accessible?


Thanks Very Much For Your Help.

Last edited by amdserver; 11th October 2005 at 22:06.
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 11th October 2005, 22:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amdserver
What should I set my hostname to?

Since my domain is my IP, should I get set it to my IP address?
No, not the IP address!
If you own a domain, e.g. mydomain.com, then create a subdomain, e.g. server1.mydomain.com, in DNS and use this subdomain as hostname.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amdserver
For the phpmyadmin add on package, how would I go about installing it?

wget [URL], and it will do everything by it self?
No, in ISPConfig you go to Management -> Update Manager -> Update and install the package there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amdserver
Also, What must else I do in order for my server to be publicly accessible?
That depends on your network setup. Does your server have direct access to the internet, or is it behind a router in a local network?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #13  
Old 11th October 2005, 22:14
amdserver amdserver is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
No, not the IP address!
If you own a domain, e.g. mydomain.com, then create a subdomain, e.g. server1.mydomain.com, in DNS and use this subdomain as hostname.
I’m going to use a domain from: https://www.dyndns.com/

Its amdserver.kicks-ass.net


Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
No, in ISPConfig you go to Management -> Update Manager -> Update and install the package there.
I figured this out before your post, lol. When I log into phpmyadmin I get this error:
Quote:
The mbstring PHP extension was not found and you seem to be using a multibyte charset. Without the mbstring extension phpMyAdmin is unable to split strings correctly and it may result in unexpected results.

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
That depends on your network setup. Does your server have direct access to the internet, or is it behind a router in a local network?
Behind a router, I’m forwarding ports to the servers Local IP. Forwarding ports: 80,21,22,25,53,110,81,443,10000. I’m not sure if that’s correct.

Thanks Again for all your help.
  #14  
Old 11th October 2005, 22:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amdserver
I figured this out before your post, lol. When I log into phpmyadmin I get this error:
Nothing to worry about.



Quote:
Originally Posted by amdserver
Behind a router, I’m forwarding ports to the servers Local IP. Forwarding ports: 80,21,22,25,53,110,81,443,10000. I’m not sure if that’s correct.
Looks ok. If you want to use IMAP, then you can add port 143. Maybe also ports 993 (IMAPs) and 995 (POP3s).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #15  
Old 11th October 2005, 23:13
amdserver amdserver is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Im confused on what I have to do with the hostname. Sorry...Im learning

So why cant my server be access from the outside? I still have eth0: set to dhcp but the server always get the same local ip so it doesnt matter.

EDIT: BTW, what is IMAP?

Last edited by amdserver; 11th October 2005 at 23:16.
  #16  
Old 12th October 2005, 01:04
amdserver amdserver is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just found out im not allowed to run a server, with my current ISP. I have to update to business to do so.
  #17  
Old 12th October 2005, 21:26
meetec meetec is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Tree problems!

I have tree problems

First one:
...... postfix imap

E:Couldn't find package imap
But I am logged as root

Second one:
quotacheck: can't find filesystem to check or file system not mounted with quota option.

Third one:
when do
apt-get update

GET
Failed to fetch http://ayo.......
.....................
.....................
and on the end
E:Some index files faild to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.

I do edit file /etc/apt/sources.list and do tree lines of changes

--------------------------
Can I install this server with gnome desktop?

How can I download ISPConfig in command line from internet, and how to extract?
---------------------------
Tanks,

I am fucking new in Linux
  #18  
Old 12th October 2005, 22:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I guess you're using Fedora Core 4.
Quote:
Originally Posted by meetec
I have tree problems

First one:
...... postfix imap

E:Couldn't find package imap
But I am logged as root
Have a look at http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_se...dora_core_4_p3. You have to put
Code:
rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net fedora/linux/1/i386 core updates freshrpms
into /etc/apt/sources.list. The 1 is not an error! This is the repository that has the imap package. After you've changed /etc/apt/sources.list run
Code:
apt-get update
and then
Code:
apt-get install imap
.

Quote:
Originally Posted by meetec
Second one:
quotacheck: can't find filesystem to check or file system not mounted with quota option.
Did you edit /etc/fstab, as described on the same page http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_se...dora_core_4_p3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by meetec
Third one:
when do
apt-get update

GET
Failed to fetch http://ayo.......
.....................
.....................
and on the end
E:Some index files faild to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.

I do edit file /etc/apt/sources.list and do tree lines of changes
Can you post the contents of /etc/apt/sources.list here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by meetec
Can I install this server with gnome desktop?
Yes, though it's unusual on a server and might be a security risk. But I guess you're using the system in your home network so it's ok.

Quote:
Originally Posted by meetec
How can I download ISPConfig in command line from internet, and how to extract?
Visit http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/i...ar.gz?download
At the top it says
Quote:
Your download should begin shortly. If it does not, try
http://<blabla>/ISPConfig-2.0.9.tar.gz
or choose a different mirror
Copy that URL, go to your server's shell and run
Code:
wget http://<blabla>/ISPConfig-2.0.9.tar.gz
You can extract it like this:
Code:
tar xvfz ISPConfig-2.0.9.tar.gz
Please have a look at the installation instruction: http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #19  
Old 13th October 2005, 13:09
meetec meetec is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Thanks

Thanks!

Question again when I do the

postconf -e 'smtp_sasl_security_options = noanonymus'

A got

You have mail in /var/spool/mail/root
????
Is that OK
  #20  
Old 13th October 2005, 15:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meetec
Thanks!

Question again when I do the

postconf -e 'smtp_sasl_security_options = noanonymus'

A got

You have mail in /var/spool/mail/root
????
Is that OK
That's ok. It just means the root has got an email (probably some system message).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Perfect Setup... IMAP help??? leon HOWTO-Related Questions 7 7th August 2008 16:17
Fedora Core 4 - The Perfect Setup nandhu HOWTO-Related Questions 27 10th January 2006 12:23
Perfect Fedora Core 4 install (GPG key errors) linuxfast HOWTO-Related Questions 2 16th September 2005 19:54
Fedora Core 4: charset problem (UTF-8?) Pasco Server Operation 5 26th August 2005 14:14
Quota: Perfect Setup Fedora Core 4 domino Installation/Configuration 7 20th August 2005 17:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.