#31  
Old 18th October 2005, 18:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

I have no idea. Did you have a look at /var/log/messages and /var/log/syslog?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Sponsored Links
  #32  
Old 18th October 2005, 20:16
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Here is what I found in the /var/log/messages file. Nothing looks too peculiar beyond this:

Code:
Oct 17 18:06:33 server1 named: zone 0.0.127.in-addr.arpa/IN: loaded serial 1997022700
Oct 17 18:06:33 server1 named: zone 2.168.192.in-addr.arpa/IN: loaded serial 2005092901
Oct 17 18:06:33 server1 named: dns_master_load: pri.mydomain1.com:22: server1.mydomain1.com: CNAME and other data
Oct 17 18:06:33 server1 named: zone mydomain1.com/IN: loading master file pri.mydomain1.com: CNAME and other data
Oct 17 18:06:33 server1 named: _default/mydomain1.com/IN: CNAME and other data
Oct 17 18:06:33 server1 named: zone mydomain2.com/IN: loaded serial 2005100301
I also looked in the other logs and didn't see any relevant error messages.

Some final questions before I jump into a reinstall:
1) How can I confirm that ISPConfig is writing to my main Apache?

2) Would you happen to have a copy of a basic FC4 Apache conf file w/ISPConfig installed that I could compare to? If you have it readily available...I am just hoping I haven't overlloked the simple stuff...

3) This obviouly happened when I installed the third Apache with PHP4 support. Can you think of anything that could have caused this corruption. Here is a link that I used to install the PHP4 and Apache.

4) I have two sites configured in ISPConfig. Should they both be using the 192.168.2.50? I presume, yes, but where does the 192.168.2.51 and eth0:0 fall in? Is that just to run the ISPConfig interface?

Well, that's all I can think of. If I cannot clue in to anything from the above questions, I guess I will dive into a complete reinstall--eeeek!

Thanks Falko and Till for any additional help...

Last edited by ctroyp; 18th October 2005 at 20:24.
  #33  
Old 18th October 2005, 20:41
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctroyp
1) How can I confirm that ISPConfig is writing to my main Apache?

2) Would you happen to have a copy of a basic FC4 Apache conf file w/ISPConfig installed that I could compare to? If you have it readily available...I am just hoping I haven't overlloked the simple stuff...
I think you should consider a complete re-install of the whole system. The current one seems to be pretty messed up...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctroyp
3) This obviouly happened when I installed the third Apache with PHP4 support. Can you think of anything that could have caused this corruption. Here is a link that I used to install the PHP4 and Apache.
I guess this happened because you didn't use Fedora packages, but instead installed PHP4 manually.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctroyp
4) I have two sites configured in ISPConfig. Should they both be using the 192.168.2.50? I presume, yes, but where does the 192.168.2.51 and eth0:0 fall in? Is that just to run the ISPConfig interface?
No, you can run all on just one IP address. I guess you're referring to the section "Configure Additional IP Addresses" on http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_se...dora_core_4_p3. This is just to demonstrate how to add additional IP addresses if you need them. E.g., if you have multiple SSL web sites, then you need one IP address per SSL web site.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #34  
Old 18th October 2005, 21:26
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
I think you should consider a complete re-install of the whole system. The current one seems to be pretty messed up...
You have confirmed my fate...
At least I have learned a couple things not to do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
I guess this happened because you didn't use Fedora packages, but instead installed PHP4 manually.
I will look up info on how to use the packages next time. Can I select PHP4 during the Fedora install?

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
No, you can run all on just one IP address. I guess you're referring to the section "Configure Additional IP Addresses" on http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_se...dora_core_4_p3. This is just to demonstrate how to add additional IP addresses if you need them. E.g., if you have multiple SSL web sites, then you need one IP address per SSL web site.
Makes sense now...thanks for explaining.
  #35  
Old 18th October 2005, 22:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctroyp
I will look up info on how to use the packages next time. Can I select PHP4 during the Fedora install?
You can search for PHP packages with
Code:
yum search php
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #36  
Old 18th October 2005, 22:54
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Thanks Falko...I won't bore you with my ignorance any longer.

I will read up on Yum.

Thanks again for all the help.

I will let you know how things turn out...
  #37  
Old 22nd October 2005, 03:41
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
You can search for PHP packages with
Code:
yum search php
Falko,
I am in the process of reinstalling my server. I am at the point in the FC4 perfect setup where it directs me to install Apache with PHP5.
Code:
Apache With PHP5

apt-get install php php-devel php-gd php-imap php-ldap php-mysql php-odbc php-pear php-xmlrpc curl curl-devel perl-libwww-perl ImageMagick

Now edit /etc/httpd/conf.d/php.conf and comment out the AddHandler and AddType lines:
Code:
#
# PHP is an HTML-embedded scripting language which attempts to make it
# easy for developers to write dynamically generated webpages.
#

LoadModule php5_module modules/libphp5.so

#
# Cause the PHP interpreter to handle files with a .php extension.
#
#AddHandler php5-script .php
#AddType text/html .php

#
# Add index.php to the list of files that will be served as directory
# indexes.
#
DirectoryIndex index.php

#
# Uncomment the following line to allow PHP to pretty-print .phps
# files as PHP source code:
#
#AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps
How do I need to change these commands to install PHP4.4.0? I don't want to get into the mess I did last time with PHP5 on my main Apache, although the ISPConfig Apache PHP5 will still be installed after the main Apache.

Thanks,
Troy
  #38  
Old 22nd October 2005, 12:32
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,256 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

I'am not sure if FC4 comes with php4 at all. Did you get any results if you run:

yum search php4
  #39  
Old 22nd October 2005, 14:30
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
I'am not sure if FC4 comes with php4 at all. Did you get any results if you run:

yum search php4
Here are the results:
Code:
[root@server1 ~]# yum search php4
Searching Packages:
Setting up repositories
updates-released          100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
extras                    100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00
base                      100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
primary.xml.gz            100% |=========================| 343 kB    00:02
updates-re: ################################################## 967/967
Added 35 new packages, deleted 23 old in 3.06 seconds
primary.xml.gz            100% |=========================| 877 kB    00:05
extras    : ################################################## 2440/2440
Added 2 new packages, deleted 204 old in 6.00 seconds


squirrelmail.noarch                      1.4.4-2                base
Matched from:
SquirrelMail is a standards-based webmail package written in PHP4. It
includes built-in pure PHP support for the IMAP and SMTP protocols, and
all pages render in pure HTML 4.0 (with no Javascript) for maximum
compatibility across browsers.  It has very few requirements and is very
easy to configure and install. SquirrelMail has all the functionality
you would want from an email client, including strong MIME support,
address books, and folder manipulation.


squirrelmail.noarch                      1.4.6-0.cvs20050812.1. updates-released
Matched from:
SquirrelMail is a standards-based webmail package written in PHP4. It
includes built-in pure PHP support for the IMAP and SMTP protocols, and
all pages render in pure HTML 4.0 (with no Javascript) for maximum
compatibility across browsers.  It has very few requirements and is very
easy to configure and install. SquirrelMail has all the functionality
you would want from an email client, including strong MIME support,
address books, and folder manipulation.
[root@server1 ~]# updatedb
[root@server1 ~]# locate php4
/usr/share/swig/1.3.24/php4
/usr/share/swig/1.3.24/php4/std_pair.i
/usr/share/swig/1.3.24/php4/typemaps.i
/usr/share/swig/1.3.24/php4/std_map.i
/usr/share/swig/1.3.24/php4/php4kw.swg
/usr/share/swig/1.3.24/php4/php4.swg
/usr/share/swig/1.3.24/php4/php4run.swg
/usr/share/swig/1.3.24/php4/std_string.i
/usr/share/swig/1.3.24/php4/std_vector.i
/usr/share/swig/1.3.24/php4/std_common.i
/usr/share/swig/1.3.24/php4/utils.i
[root@server1 ~]#
  #40  
Old 22nd October 2005, 15:03
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,256 Times in 4,121 Posts
 
Default

It looks like there are no PHP4 packages available for Fedora Core 4. So you have to use the PHP5 packages or compile and install PHP manually, which I can not recommend.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[error] an unkown filter was not added: PHP Arien Installation/Configuration 12 7th October 2006 14:17
PHP not working jefash General 10 28th May 2006 08:48
Cannot compile new PHP with apxs olli Installation/Configuration 11 4th March 2006 15:32
Multiple domains jysse Installation/Configuration 2 10th August 2005 11:22
Apache + PHP lola Server Operation 1 25th April 2005 13:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.