#91  
Old 2nd November 2005, 17:19
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
What happens if you have
Code:
smtpd_sasl_local_domain = $myhostname
in /etc/postfix/main.cf? Don't forget to restart Postfix after the change.
I had already tried this and got the same results.

Sorry it took so long to respond, my wife and I just had a baby and we have been int the hospital the las couple days...IT's A BOY!!!
Sponsored Links
  #92  
Old 2nd November 2005, 17:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctroyp
Sorry it took so long to respond, my wife and I just had a baby and we have been int the hospital the las couple days...IT's A BOY!!!
Congratulations!!!

Quote:
I had already tried this and got the same results.
Maybe a firewall issue...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #93  
Old 3rd November 2005, 22:41
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Congratulations!!!


Maybe a firewall issue...
The only firewall I have currently is through my router. I didn't have this problem before with the Fedora setup, but I will dig aroud to see what I can find out...thanks!
  #94  
Old 9th November 2005, 04:40
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Was there a firewall installed during the Sarge setup that I may have missed. I cannot figure out why the I cannot successfully test the postfix with ehlo localhost. Everything else has been running perfectly. Any ideas?

When I enter 'telnet localhost 25'
I get:
Code:
/root$ telnet localhost 25
Trying 127.0.0.1...
Connected to localhost.localdomain.
Escape character is '^]'.
Connection closed by foreign host.
If I try it again, I get the same thing but it doesn't close. I enter the 'ehlo localhost' and nothing else happens.

Last edited by ctroyp; 9th November 2005 at 04:55.
  #95  
Old 9th November 2005, 09:41
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

What's in /etc/postfix/main.cf as myhostname or mydomain? You normally get this if myhostname/mydomain don't exist in DNS...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #96  
Old 9th November 2005, 15:53
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
What's in /etc/postfix/main.cf as myhostname or mydomain? You normally get this if myhostname/mydomain don't exist in DNS...
Code:
myhostname = server1.strec.com
Where do I find the DNS tables on my machine?
  #97  
Old 9th November 2005, 16:20
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

This is what I found out:
Quote:
dig server1.strec.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> server1.strec.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 33097
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;server1.strec.com. IN A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
strec.com. 3600 IN SOA this--domain--for-sale.com. dnsmaster.this--domain--for-sale.com. 2001090106 3600 1200 3600000 3600

;; Query time: 229 msec
;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
;; WHEN: Wed Nov 9 16:18:47 2005
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 104
This means server1.strec.com doesn't exist in DNS. The DNS server that is responsible for strec.com is this--domain--for-sale.com. You must create the DNS record there.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #98  
Old 9th November 2005, 17:06
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Well, that must be the problem then. I do not own strec.com. This is only my local network domain. Do I need to enter my actual public domain?
  #99  
Old 9th November 2005, 17:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctroyp
Do I need to enter my actual public domain?
You should do so...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #100  
Old 9th November 2005, 20:05
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
You should do so...
So this would need to be my WAN IP address. I do not actually have a public domain name except for the websites that I host.

Here is the contents of /etc/postfix/main.cf:
Code:
# See /usr/share/postfix/main.cf.dist for a commented, more complete version

smtpd_banner = $myhostname ESMTP $mail_name (Debian/GNU)
biff = no

# appending .domain is the MUA's job.
append_dot_mydomain = no

# Uncomment the next line to generate "delayed mail" warnings
#delay_warning_time = 4h

myhostname = server1.strec.com
alias_maps = hash:/etc/aliases
alias_database = hash:/etc/aliases
myorigin = /etc/mailname
#mydestination = server1.strec.com, localhost.strec.com, , localhost
relayhost =
mynetworks = 127.0.0.0/8
mailbox_command =
mailbox_size_limit = 0
recipient_delimiter = +
inet_interfaces = all
smtpd_sasl_local_domain =
smtpd_sasl_auth_enable = yes
smtpd_sasl_security_options = nonanonymous
broken_sasl_auth_clients = yes
smptd_recipient_restrictions = permit_sasl_authenticated,permit_mynetworks,reject_unauth_destination
smtpd_tls_auth_only = no
smtp_use_tls = yes
smtpd_use_tls = yes
smtp_tls_note_starttls_offer = yes
smtpd_tls_key_file = /etc/postfix/ssl/smtpd.key
smtpd_tls_cert_file = /etc/postfix/ssl/smtpd.crt
smtpd_tls_CAfile = /etc/postfix/ssl/cacert.pem
smtpd_tls_loglevel = 1
smtpd_tls_received_header = yes
smtpd_tls_session_cache_timeout = 3600s
tls_random_source = dev:/dev/urandom
home_mailbox = Maildir/

virtual_maps = hash:/etc/postfix/virtusertable

mydestination = /etc/postfix/local-host-names
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[error] an unkown filter was not added: PHP Arien Installation/Configuration 12 7th October 2006 14:17
PHP not working jefash General 10 28th May 2006 08:48
Cannot compile new PHP with apxs olli Installation/Configuration 11 4th March 2006 15:32
Multiple domains jysse Installation/Configuration 2 10th August 2005 11:22
Apache + PHP lola Server Operation 1 25th April 2005 13:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.