Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th October 2005, 12:17
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Unhappy FC3: apt-get upgrade-dist broke it

I recently ran apt-get upgrade-dist (I think that's the command), and now I can not log into ssh. I think it also broke ISPConfig because all the site have disappeared from the control panel. I can still access all the sites remotely. The only problem I have is that I can not access SSH, meaning it is not running. I have webmin installed and I went into the filemanager to see if sshd and it's config was still around. ssh_config is still there, but sshd is MIA (can not locate). What can I do if I don't have physical access to the computer? If I had physical access, how can I get SSH back? Any suggestions are welcome.
__________________
Shuttle XPC | Intel 865g | P4 3.2Ghz | ATI 9800 Pro
Hosts: Ubuntu 6.10 ~ XGL-Beryl SVN-Gnome | OS X 10.4.8 | WindowsXP
Virtual Appliances: Ubuntu Server 6.10 | WindowsXP | CentOS 4.4

Last edited by domino; 8th October 2005 at 12:29.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th October 2005, 12:57
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,395
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,490 Times in 4,322 Posts
Default

You can try to setup an FC3 system on your workstation with e.g. VMWare and copy the missing SSHD files to your server with webmin.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th October 2005, 13:41
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

If you have a rescue system on your server you could boot into that and try to repair the system...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th October 2005, 14:36
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

yea, looks like i have copy copy things from another server to it. I don't have a rescue system implimented because I didn't think an openssh update can scew everything up.

What about ISPC? It's still broke and I think it was because of the update. I'll post back in a couple of days with what ever happens.
__________________
Shuttle XPC | Intel 865g | P4 3.2Ghz | ATI 9800 Pro
Hosts: Ubuntu 6.10 ~ XGL-Beryl SVN-Gnome | OS X 10.4.8 | WindowsXP
Virtual Appliances: Ubuntu Server 6.10 | WindowsXP | CentOS 4.4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th October 2005, 15:25
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,395
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,490 Times in 4,322 Posts
Default

You posted above that the sites have disappeared from the controlpanel. This can only be caused by changes in the mysql database.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th October 2005, 16:46
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
You posted above that the sites have disappeared from the controlpanel. This can only be caused by changes in the mysql database.
This is gonna be a fun couple of days . Never will I use apt-get again to update a perfectly working Fedora box. From what I rmember when I used apt-get, it did update SSHD. So I blame the updater for that. There's not a "Safe mode with network support" in Linux is there?
__________________
Shuttle XPC | Intel 865g | P4 3.2Ghz | ATI 9800 Pro
Hosts: Ubuntu 6.10 ~ XGL-Beryl SVN-Gnome | OS X 10.4.8 | WindowsXP
Virtual Appliances: Ubuntu Server 6.10 | WindowsXP | CentOS 4.4
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th October 2005, 17:27
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,395
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,490 Times in 4,322 Posts
Default

The problem is not apt-get. I assume you used the command apt-get dist-upgarde which will try to update to the next fedora version. Instaed using apt-get -u update is save and shows you the packages that shall be updated before the update.

I've updated a fedora 3 box with apt for over a year without problems.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th October 2005, 22:24
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Well damn.. This is my first time to use apt-get and tried to update. I guess it was my fault for not looking into an application more before using it. Nonetheless, it will be my last time to use apt-get on a Fedora or RH system.
__________________
Shuttle XPC | Intel 865g | P4 3.2Ghz | ATI 9800 Pro
Hosts: Ubuntu 6.10 ~ XGL-Beryl SVN-Gnome | OS X 10.4.8 | WindowsXP
Virtual Appliances: Ubuntu Server 6.10 | WindowsXP | CentOS 4.4
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th October 2005, 13:10
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Aftet several days of trying to fix my problem without any success, do you think I should go ahead and upgrade to FC4 rather than reinstall FC3? Will it break ISPConfig if I upgrade to FC4?
__________________
Shuttle XPC | Intel 865g | P4 3.2Ghz | ATI 9800 Pro
Hosts: Ubuntu 6.10 ~ XGL-Beryl SVN-Gnome | OS X 10.4.8 | WindowsXP
Virtual Appliances: Ubuntu Server 6.10 | WindowsXP | CentOS 4.4
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th October 2005, 14:22
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,395
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,490 Times in 4,322 Posts
 
Default

I've never done an distribution upgrade in Fedora with ISPConfig installed. Anyone else tested it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My mysqld broke domino Server Operation 12 12th October 2008 05:56
Upgrade to 2.0.8? bearau HOWTO-Related Questions 2 27th August 2005 09:20
Firewall rules missing after Upgrade. jernis Installation/Configuration 2 17th August 2005 12:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.