Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd July 2006, 19:06
darkomen darkomen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Installation questions with ISPconfig using ubuntu dapper drake

I am new to Linux and somewhat webservers i appreciate the tutorial.
During the installation of ispconfig it would fail at this point.

Please enter the host name: E.g. www
Please enter the domain: E.g. server1.mydomain.com
Url unreachable...

Scary thing is I got past this point around 3:00 in the morning and the system finished the install (I think). I still think i put in server1.mydomain.com and setup https://. But get failures read below.

Now if I type in https://www.server1.mydomain.com:81 or https://server1.mydomain.com:81 it doesn't work it just keeps trying to connect.

If i type in https://externalIpAddress.com:81 it brings up the admin login and once i login it displays this message and kicks me out.
Not Found
The requested URL /nojsindx.htm was not found on this server.

Apache/1.3.36 Server at www.server1.mydomain.com Port 81

I am using godaddy to forward my domains to my routers ip address. I am using their dns name servers.
If I type in www.mydomain.com it brings me to my www directory on the server. However if I type www.server1.mydomain.com it sends me to a parking page on godaddy.com I think this may be the problem. I tried then to create a subdomain on godaddy.com called server1 and forwarded it to www.mydomain.com I am not sure I did this part correctly but it didn't work. If someone has done this before please let me know how you did it step by step.

Here is some information outputs.
/etc/hosts
127.0.0.1 localhost
192.168.1.200 server1.mydomain.com server1

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
ff02::3 ip6-allhosts

dig
; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> www.server1.mydomain.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 47071
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.server1.mydomain.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.server1.mydomain.com. 101 IN A 68.178.232.99

;; Query time: 43 msec
;; SERVER: 68.87.77.130#53(68.87.77.130)
;; WHEN: Sat Jul 22 11:47:43 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 68

root@server1:~# hostname
server1
root@server1:~# hostname -f
server1.mydomain.com

So these are my main questions.
1. How do I patch or reinstall/continue install ISPconfig (including deleting the all previous installation files thru command prompt and root)
2. Forward subdomain on go daddy or do dns stuff with makes my head hurt.
3. Should I use a different distro like fedora 5.

I have been reading the howtos regarding DNS and domains and it still confuses me. I am trying to set up a webserver to host some small websites (joomla) to learn before I go to my server classes this fall.

Thanks again for this wonder site and this open source software.
Darkomen

Last edited by darkomen; 23rd July 2006 at 08:10.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd July 2006, 23:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkomen
Please enter the host name: E.g. www
Please enter the domain: E.g. server1.mydomain.com
Url unreachable...
If you want to use server1.mydomain.com for ISPConfig, you should have used server1 as host name and mydomain.com as domain.
Anyway, you must make sure that any FQDN you enter exists in DNS.


Quote:
Originally Posted by darkomen
1. How do I patch or reinstall/continue install ISPconfig (including deleting the all previous installation files thru command prompt and root)
You can uninstall it by running
Code:
/root/ispconfig/uninstall
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkomen
3. Should I use a different distro like fedora 5.
This has nothing to do with the distribution.
What's the real FQDN you want to use for ISPConfig, and what's your server's public IP address?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th July 2006, 13:45
darkomen darkomen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I did a reinstall but running into same issue. Stuck at the url is unreachable part.

I got this from DynDNS and is a static dns.
darkomenmd.homeip.net

external IP 24.245.62.13

Thanks

output of hosts
27.0.0.1 localhost
192.168.1.110 server1.darkomenmd.homeip.net server1

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters

output of host info
root@server1:~# hostname
server1
root@server1:~# hostname -f
server1.darkomenmd.homeip.net
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th July 2006, 14:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

Which FQDN did you enter this time? darkomenmd.homeip.net or server1.darkomenmd.homeip.net?
Does your firewall allow pings? What's the output of
Code:
ping -c2 darkomenmd.homeip.net
and
Code:
ping -c2 server1.darkomenmd.homeip.net
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th October 2006, 22:06
gdog05 gdog05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Similar/Same Problem

Hey guys,

I also would like to thank you for the tutorial all the help you give.

I am receiving the URL not reachable error as well, I have pinged my domain with and without the www, and I get 2 different IP's in the results. Without www, I see the local IP of the server, not the outside IP. With www, I see a wierd IP address, and nothing finishes transmitting.

If I put www.mydomain.com in my browser, it does go to the index of my server. I don't know if that means anything however. Any help is appeciated. Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th October 2006, 15:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

Please post your real domain name here.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th October 2006, 15:57
gdog05 gdog05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's alexanderclarkuploader.com. Thanks again for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th October 2006, 17:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

Your DNS records are ok:

Code:
mh1:~# dig www.alexanderclarkuploader.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> www.alexanderclarkuploader.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 4401
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.alexanderclarkuploader.com.        IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.alexanderclarkuploader.com. 3600 IN CNAME   alexanderclarkuploader.com.
alexanderclarkuploader.com. 3594 IN     A       64.202.189.170

;; Query time: 176 msec
;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
;; WHEN: Sat Oct 28 17:34:56 2006
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 78

mh1:~# dig ns alexanderclarkuploader.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> ns alexanderclarkuploader.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 22285
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;alexanderclarkuploader.com.    IN      NS

;; ANSWER SECTION:
alexanderclarkuploader.com. 3585 IN     NS      PARK5.SECURESERVER.NET.
alexanderclarkuploader.com. 3585 IN     NS      PARK6.SECURESERVER.NET.

;; Query time: 2 msec
;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
;; WHEN: Sat Oct 28 17:35:05 2006
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 100
But it seems you haven't created any web sites yet with ISPConfig?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th October 2006, 18:23
gdog05 gdog05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, that's correct. I'm stuck in the installation of ISPConfig still. I get URL not reachable when ISPConfig installer asks me for my domain name, and I give it: www
alexanderclarkuploader.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30th October 2006, 09:39
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,439
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,209 Times in 4,085 Posts
 
Default

What is the output of:
when you execute it on the shell on your server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perfect Install - Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper Questions Anim HOWTO-Related Questions 123 1st October 2006 13:02
How To Set Up Xen 3.0 From Binaries In Ubuntu 6.06 LTS (Dapper Drake) dspott HOWTO-Related Questions 3 30th June 2006 09:30
Ispconfig on new ubuntu 6.06 dapper OK!! sulfuric Installation/Configuration 6 5th June 2006 14:50
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16
Ubuntu Installation Fails - ISPConfig mateo107 Installation/Configuration 5 9th March 2006 07:54


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.