#1  
Old 22nd April 2007, 22:31
cruz cruz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 365
Thanks: 51
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default will not start

I set up centos 5 and installed ISPConfig from the shell using ssh. I did not know how to launch the browser so I installed the xwindows and KDE. I tried to launch the ISPConfig. (https://www.my domain.com:81) it just sits there and then times out. I am able to get the apache manual up.http://www.may domain.com. or (http://localhost) I have port 81 off on my router. also I am in the process of transferring my domain. Dose that have something to do with it. I am a bit new and am trying to understand. Thanks for the help. I am learning. Thanks to your site here.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd April 2007, 22:34
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,787
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,337 Times in 4,187 Posts
Default

Quote:
I set up centos 5 and installed ISPConfig from the shell using ssh. I did not know how to launch the browser so I installed the xwindows and KDE.
That is generally not recommended for a server. You should have just launched the browser on you workstation and not on the server.

Quote:
I tried to launch the ISPConfig. (https://www.my domain.com:81) it just sits there and then times out. I am able to get the apache manual up.http://www.may domain.com. or (http://localhost) I have port 81 off on my router. also I am in the process of transferring my domain. Dose that have something to do with it. I am a bit new and am trying to understand. Thanks for the help. I am learning. Thanks to your site here.
You can not connect if your domain is not transferred yet. Use the IP instead of the domain to connect to ISPConfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd April 2007, 00:09
cruz cruz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 365
Thanks: 51
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default connection with ssh

I am using my laptop with putty. I am at the shell command line. How do I launch a browser in the ssh session?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd April 2007, 01:22
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

You don't need to launch a browser in the ssh session.You can connect to the ISPConfig thru a browser on another computer connected to the network like LAN or the Internet.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd April 2007, 17:58
cruz cruz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 365
Thanks: 51
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default good news

Good, I want to do this the right way. Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd April 2007, 18:56
torusturtle torusturtle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 21
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to torusturtle Send a message via AIM to torusturtle
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cruz
I set up centos 5 and installed ISPConfig from the shell using ssh. I did not know how to launch the browser so I installed the xwindows and KDE. I tried to launch the ISPConfig. (https://www.my domain.com:81) it just sits there and then times out. I am able to get the apache manual up.http://www.may domain.com. or (http://localhost) I have port 81 off on my router. also I am in the process of transferring my domain. Dose that have something to do with it. I am a bit new and am trying to understand. Thanks for the help. I am learning. Thanks to your site here.
You can use ssh to administrate the server with the shell.
Read here for more information:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bash

I wouldn't use xwindows on a remote server because of data load.

You might also want to edit /etc/resolv.conf
Code:
vi /etc/resolv.conf
There should be nameserver entries. For example:
Code:
nameserver 217.146.139.5
nameserver 62.157.101.211
Without them your server can't resolve internet addresses.

Hope this helps.

PS. You might want to reinstall CentOS to get a clean install without KDE etc.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd April 2007, 22:01
cruz cruz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 365
Thanks: 51
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default name server dns are in

I reinstalled the os and installed ispconfig. wow this is a geat program. Can I administer most everything from my laptop? I brought it up already and changed password. I will take a look at the shell hyperlink as well. I am starting to feel there is hope for running my server. I have been trying for a long time now to get it up and running. I was not able to find any info online, intill I found this site. What do I use to modify my script once I get it installed? I am going to sighn up with paid support soon. Thanks for all the help from ALL.. Cruz
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th April 2007, 11:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,787
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,337 Times in 4,187 Posts
Default

Quote:
Can I administer most everything from my laptop?
Yes. Either trough the ISPConfig interface or upload files with any FTP client or login to the Shell with a SSH client like putty.

Quote:
What do I use to modify my script once I get it installed?
About what kind of script are you talking?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th April 2007, 16:15
cruz cruz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 365
Thanks: 51
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default a dating script

It is a dating script. It uses php and a database.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25th April 2007, 13:35
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cruz
It is a dating script. It uses php and a database.
You can use any text editor to modify PHP scripts.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Segmentation Fault while trying to start Apache vibs_im Server Operation 4 26th March 2007 08:24
Apache wont start anymore ! wapa17 Server Operation 2 3rd January 2007 18:04
ISPconfig didn't start when reboot kong121s Installation/Configuration 7 16th May 2006 16:05
Start stop script debian ColdDoT Server Operation 3 23rd April 2006 18:45
MYSQL Will NOT start.... Richard Server Operation 8 17th April 2006 10:54


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.