Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th October 2006, 18:55
ColdDoT ColdDoT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Netherland
Posts: 178
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to ColdDoT
Default Debin sarge kernel upgrade help

Hello

i got a debian sarge with a kernel 2.4. i want to upgrade it to the latest stable kernel.

but the server stands 260km of my house, so i don't wanna have something goes wrong when i upgrade it trough ssh.

so does some 1 know a good guid or howto to upgrade the kernel without having complication with the fact that you are 260km of your server.

greets ColdDoT
__________________
2B or not 2B (a pro)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 25th October 2006, 22:44
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

Debian search for available linux 2.4 kernels:

apt-cache search kernel |grep 2.4

Choose the latest stable kernel and install it:

apt-get install kernel-image-2.4.27-3-386

(i use this kernel just as an example, your choiche depends on your CPU etc.)

This commands reads the current installed linux kernel:

uname -a

Remove the current installed kernel:

dpkg --purge --force-remove-essential kernel-image-2.4.x-x-386

(your current kernel image according the output of uname -a)

Reboot your server.

uname -a

(you'll will see your new kernel now up and running)


NOTE:
I've tried this more then once succesfully, but i give NO WARANTY that it will work for you!!!
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th October 2006, 22:49
ColdDoT ColdDoT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Netherland
Posts: 178
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to ColdDoT
Default

i want to upgrade to 2.6 kernel, can i do it in the same way?
__________________
2B or not 2B (a pro)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th October 2006, 23:03
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

No i do not think so!
I think that upgrading from linux 2.4 kernel series to the 2.6 kernel series is a different procedure.
I am not familiar with that.

Maybe, you can ask Falko for advice.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005

Last edited by Hans; 25th October 2006 at 23:05.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th October 2006, 23:06
ColdDoT ColdDoT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Netherland
Posts: 178
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to ColdDoT
Default

Ok because i wanna run lm_sensors, for some munin plugins
__________________
2B or not 2B (a pro)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th October 2006, 12:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,727 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdDoT
Hello

i got a debian sarge with a kernel 2.4. i want to upgrade it to the latest stable kernel.

but the server stands 260km of my house, so i don't wanna have something goes wrong when i upgrade it trough ssh.

so does some 1 know a good guid or howto to upgrade the kernel without having complication with the fact that you are 260km of your server.

greets ColdDoT
Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th October 2006, 14:42
ColdDoT ColdDoT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Netherland
Posts: 178
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to ColdDoT
Default

what is the change that it goes wrong
upgrading a kernel 2.4.27-2-386 to the newest 2.6 kernel?
it is a webserver with some custimers on it so it may not goes wrong.

else is there a way to get lm_sensors working on 2.4.27-2-386 kernel (dell power edge 1u server 8xx)
__________________
2B or not 2B (a pro)

Last edited by ColdDoT; 26th October 2006 at 14:45.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th October 2006, 16:35
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,033
Thanks: 261
Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
Default

I've updated my Dell severs (PowerEdge 1425) from the 2.4 kernal to the 2.6.8-3-686-smp (note the smp part for dual CPU)

Till now I've never had a problem (my servers are about 100 km from here)

The way I did it. (it's like Hans his way)

1) Find the kernel you want to install
Code:
apt-cache search kernel-image | grep 686
(in my case 686)
or:
Code:
apt-cache search kernel-image | grep 2.6

2) When you have found the correct kernel-image for your system you need to "install" it (lets say it's "kernel-image-2.6.8-3-686-smp"
Code:
apt-get install kernel-image-2.6.8-3-686-smp
Done. Now you can do a reboot.

To see if you are using the new kernel, do a
Code:
uname -a
If you want you can (after the reboot) remove the "old" kernel

Again. I've never had a problem doing it this way on my Dell servers!

Last edited by edge; 26th October 2006 at 16:41.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th October 2006, 18:58
ColdDoT ColdDoT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Netherland
Posts: 178
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to ColdDoT
Default

uname -a
Code:
Linux server 2.4.27-2-386 #1 Wed Nov 30 21:38:51 JST 2005 i686 GNU/Linux
so can i install this package?
Code:
kernel-image-2.6-686 - Linux 2.6 image on PPro/Celeron/PII/PIII/P4 - transition package
and this is my CPU that is in my server
Code:
One Intel® Xeon® processor at 3.2GHz with 2MB L2 cache
(its a duel motherbord but i have only 1 prosessor installed)

is it oke to install kernel-image-2.6-686 ?

Thx for all the help so far
__________________
2B or not 2B (a pro)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th October 2006, 20:23
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,033
Thanks: 261
Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
 
Default

I think that you can also install the "-smp" kernal.
The Intel® Xeon® processor is a dual CPU.

I have 2 Intel® Xeon® processor's in my system, and it's showing me CPU's 4 :-)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compile Kernel 2.6 under Debian Sarge falko Kernel Questions 117 28th September 2009 13:03
High Availability Samba cluster - DRBD + Heartbeat djalex Server Operation 58 25th May 2007 19:38
upgrade a vserver kernel vdvm Installation/Configuration 1 8th September 2006 13:38
Questions about ubuntu ISP-Server Setup badgerbox76 HOWTO-Related Questions 15 5th March 2006 14:41
Install Debian Sarge with Kernel 2.6 root Installation/Configuration 4 10th May 2005 10:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.