Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 16th October 2005, 00:01
Critical Critical is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Can you post the output of
Code:
iptables -L
?
Output:
Code:
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination
/etc/init.d/iptables status
Code:
Firewall is stopped.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 16th October 2005, 00:22
Critical Critical is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have a question... Does it really matter if I give a host or not during the installation, if I set the domain as domain.com would it all still work? or not?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 16th October 2005, 02:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Critical
I have a question... Does it really matter if I give a host or not during the installation, if I set the domain as domain.com would it all still work? or not?
The installer tries to ping the address you specify. If it doesn't exist, then the ping fails and therefore the installation.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 16th October 2005, 02:44
Critical Critical is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I suppose my question was, would ISPConfig still work properly if I don't supply a host. The installation seems to finish without any problems... It does run, so far, I just havent been able to get the control panel to show... I'm very puzzled as to why it won't work for me. Does anyone have any ideas? I'm pretty much stuck.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 20th October 2005, 00:49
Critical Critical is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

OK I just got it to work, I'm not sure what happened or how exactly it was fixed... I rebooted the server it for a third time and I guess it fixed it. (hope it stays working)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 1st April 2006, 20:41
Aiken Aiken is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neu2linux
Another strange thing is if I visit my normal domain using http:// on IE I get the default page saying bleh bleh, server installed ect.. With info on apache and mandriva, ect.. But...

If I visit it using FireFox, it shows the site in text, including the html tags. Not even parsing the site or something? I tried via Firefox 1.06 and 1.07 on both Windows XP and Linux.

My normal http:// domain still works however in IE

Hope someone can help me
On this point I can. I had exactly the same thing after setting up my apache server. If you view the http headers in firefox you'll find the content being server as plain text (mime type text/plain). Firefox is actually rendering the page correctly for this mime type, it's IE that has it wrong.

Now down to what caused the content to be served up as plain text. When configuring the server I'd commented out all modules that I thought I didn't need. Turns out I got one I shouldn't have - mod_mime and the directives that went with it. I put these back, restarted apache in and it was fine.

I can't get the the http config file from home, but I'll check on Monday and post an update with the directives you need to resolve this.

EDIT:
As promised here are the lines that need to be in the config file to resolve the problem with firefox displaying the page as source

LoadModule mime_module modules/mod_mime.so

# TypesConfig describes where the mime.types file (or equivalent) is
# to be found.
#
TypesConfig conf/mime.types

# DefaultType is the default MIME type the server will use for a document
# if it cannot otherwise determine one, such as from filename extensions.
# If your server contains mostly text or HTML documents, "text/plain" is
# a good value. If most of your content is binary, such as applications
# or images, you may want to use "application/octet-stream" instead to
# keep browsers from trying to display binary files as though they are
# text.
#
DefaultType text/plain

Last edited by Aiken; 3rd April 2006 at 20:50.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 25th May 2006, 08:47
dspuser dspuser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

@falko

As you probably have seen I have similar problems.

Can I write you a private mail with the details ?

/dspuser
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 25th May 2006, 14:09
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dspuser
@falko

As you probably have seen I have similar problems.

Can I write you a private mail with the details ?

/dspuser
Why don't you post it here?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HowTo start developing ISPConfig till Developers' Forum 18 25th April 2014 20:43
Fail to open ISPConfig site: firefox 8182 BigB Installation/Configuration 100 31st March 2010 16:19
Mail System doesnt work! crichton Installation/Configuration 3 17th September 2007 23:49
Changing values on ISPConfig installation Luciano Installation/Configuration 4 16th August 2005 23:32
Problem opening firewall port weedguy General 15 12th August 2005 01:05


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.