#1  
Old 18th October 2006, 22:06
roi roi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default A small bug

I found out that when you create a 'A' record it does not warn you about the trailling dot.
If the dot is not there, MyDNS will not show the entry in replyes.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th October 2006, 08:51
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

I guess you mean when the A Record is a FQDN and not that short version in the BIND9 config with the @ for "autocompletion"?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th October 2006, 09:05
roi roi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

When you put in a SOA record, for example : ' mydomain.tld ' it warn you that you must put a trailling dot : ' mydomain.tld. '.

But when you create a 'A' record (or mx\cname) for example A: ' mydoamin.tld ' CNAME: ' www.mydomain.tld ' it allow you to put them in without the trailling dot, like in my example, while the dot is mandatory for MyDNS to resolve correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th October 2006, 09:25
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,774
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,331 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default

As far as I remember, A-Records without a dot are fine. If you add "mydoamin.tld" as A-Record to the SOA "mydoamin.tld" it results in the domain "mydoamin.tld.mydoamin.tld" which is a valid domain name but maybe not that what you wanted. But if you add "www" as A-Record to the SOA "mydoamin.tld" it results in "www.mydoamin.tld" which is a common domain name
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th October 2006, 09:55
roi roi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Got it now...

Still, since on probably most systems there will be a 'A' record with only the domain name, maybe there is a place to put some warning about the subject (or at least document it).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th October 2006, 10:06
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

@Till: Well it is fine, but a FQDN ends with a dot.
In bind config you have 2 possibilties, to attach the zone (with the trailing .) to each record, or the shortened syntax, where bind does this automatically.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ben For This Useful Post:
feeninuoumn (5th December 2013)
  #7  
Old 19th October 2006, 15:29
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

It is also explained in this tutorial: http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
small bug in ISPconfig 2.2.6 edge General 1 23rd August 2006 11:18
found a small bug (I think) in ISPconfig in 2.2.5 edge General 2 22nd July 2006 17:56
Bug in named.master.conf for centos mxc Developers' Forum 1 15th July 2006 14:14
Bug in UebiMiau after delete mail and reload page tom Installation/Configuration 4 22nd April 2006 16:44
ISPconfig Mysql detection bug? hteles Installation/Configuration 1 30th March 2006 22:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.