Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th October 2006, 07:10
Nap Nap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 139
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Windows Shares not visible

Hi,
I have a W2K server running with a number of folders shared. I have gnome installed on my Debian machine (since I am new to Linux) and I used Falko's wonderful install guide to get the basic LAMP services running. I then installed ISPConfig.

When I use the File Browser in Debian, I click on the "Network" icon, then click on the "Windows Network" icon, and then click on the "abmsdomain" icon (my LAN domain name).
After the above, I have a list of machines that are on my LAN (exluding the Debian machine) which includes my W2K server. However, when I click on the W2K server machine, instead of seeing the available shares, I get a message saying:

The folder contents could not be displayed.
You do no have the permissions necessary to view the contents of "Windows Network:W2Kserver".

I've had access to the shares on that machine in the past. I used the file sharing to move the ISPConfig-2.2.6.tar.gz from my windows machine onto my Debian machine. I am wondering what I need to do to get it working again.

For the M$ people here, I have also added the Debian machine to the "Active Directory Users and Computers".

Can someone please help?

Cheers,
Nap

Last edited by Nap; 11th October 2006 at 07:31.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th October 2006, 12:54
Nap Nap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 139
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

BUMP

This is a big problem for me since I can't use my browser to download files because the browser hangs my machine.

I know it's not a password issue (though it's possible that it could have something to do with PAM, but I don't think so).

I'm not saying that installing ISPConfig broke my file access, but it was working before I installed it. So it has to be related to a setting I've made wrong somewhere.

Can someone please help?

Cheers,
Nap
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th October 2006, 13:03
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

As far as i know to have access to Windows machines you have to install SAMBA client on your Linux machine.

If you want that Windows machines have access to your Linux machine, you'll need SAMBA server as well.

I also think that's important that the Windows and Linux machines are a member of the same domain.

Do you use SAMBA already?
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th October 2006, 13:15
Nap Nap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 139
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I followed Falko's install guide, and Samba was included in the steps. (There were a number of things that were required to be removed during the install steps.)

So I don't know whether that means the client was installed or not. (In the File Browser, I am seeing smb://whoami in the url box.)

Also, I haven't configured Samba at all. Still trying to get the www functions going, HTTPS is where I'm stuck atm.

But it was working before I setup ISPConfig. I used the file sharing to connect to my windows machine and xfer the ISPConfig tar.gz file.

Cheers,
Nap
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th October 2006, 13:34
Nap Nap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 139
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I just started reading the Samba How-To (for Ubuntu) and noticed that it's talking about setting up Samba as a domain controller.

I already have a domain controller, the W2K Server is performing that function. Could that be the source of my problem? Two master controllers conflicting?

Cheers,
Nap
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th October 2006, 14:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nap
But it was working before I setup ISPConfig. I used the file sharing to connect to my windows machine and xfer the ISPConfig tar.gz file.

Cheers,
Nap
Maybe it's a firewall issue? Did you enable ISPConfig's firewall?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th October 2006, 17:12
Nap Nap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 139
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

no. I've left that off.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th October 2006, 17:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

Is there any other firewall on the system? What's the output of
Code:
iptables -L
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th October 2006, 10:20
Nap Nap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 139
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

iptables -L produces:
Code:
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
Target   prot  opt  source                      destination

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
Target   prot  opt  source                      destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
Target   prot  opt  source                      destination
Which to me looks like there are no entries.

There is a firewall seperating my LAN from the Internet, and I have a s/w firewall on my Windows client that I'm accessing this forum from.
From the Debian machine's point of view, there is no firewall between it and the Windows 2K Server, and my LAN does not use any sub-nets.

I've got ISPConfig working now (and can browse the sites I create, using HTTP & HTTPS). So I need to get the file sharing working so I can now load all the PHP, HTML, etc onto the Linux machine.

Cheers,
Nap

Last edited by Nap; 18th October 2006 at 12:26.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19th October 2006, 14:22
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nap
and I have a s/w firewall on my Windows client that I'm accessing this forum from.
What happens if you switch off your windows firewall? Does it work then?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't see Fedora box from Windows XP box. wvsailor HOWTO-Related Questions 11 15th September 2006 19:40
Xen 3.0, Ubuntu 5.10, and Windows 2003 Server Jcorrea920 HOWTO-Related Questions 3 4th May 2006 11:26
ssh protocal works, but where do i go from there? (windows -> linux networking) Mangelo HOWTO-Related Questions 1 28th February 2006 09:53
How to save on windows cals sithi Suggest HOWTO 0 29th January 2006 17:18
RW access to Ext2 & Ext3 volumes in Windows domino Tips/Tricks/Mods 0 3rd November 2005 00:39


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.