Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd October 2005, 17:57
mghodge mghodge is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Admin panel won't load completely.

I am evaluating ISPConfig on a test server and not having much success. I am using Fedora 4 on a Dual Pentium III server. I followed the "perfect" installation instructions and had no errors during install. However, when I try to access the control panel on port 81 it never loads completely. Sometimes the top nav bar will not display, other times it's the right or left frame that will be blank. It's random. This happens on IE and Firefox. I have tried both https and http and tried many different entries in the config.php for the URL. The server is behind a DSL router at IP address 192.168.0.10 using NAT passing all ports. Port 80 data (or any other service) doesn't seem to have problems, just the ISPConfig panel at 81.

What I have done wrong?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd October 2005, 19:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

So the URL you use for accessing ISPConfig is the same as the one that's in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php?

Do you try to access ISPConfig from outside your local network or from within?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd October 2005, 20:25
mghodge mghodge is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, the url in config.inc.php is the same as the one I use from outside the network. http://pike.forumexperts.com:81 you can try it yourself.

user:testseller
pass:testpass

This is a 100% test environment so I don't mind giving out the login info. login and navigate around, see if some of the pages fail to appear for you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd October 2005, 20:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mghodge
Yes, the url in config.inc.php is the same as the one I use from outside the network. http://pike.forumexperts.com:81 you can try it yourself.

user:testseller
pass:testpass

This is a 100% test environment so I don't mind giving out the login info. login and navigate around, see if some of the pages fail to appear for you.
I get the same behaviour. Do the name servers you use on your ISPConfig box resolve pike.forumexperts.com correctly?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd October 2005, 23:36
mghodge mghodge is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
I get the same behaviour. Do the name servers you use on your ISPConfig box resolve pike.forumexperts.com correctly?
It would appear so...

Code:
[root@pike ~]# dig @localhost pike.forumexperts.com           

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> @localhost pike.forumexperts.com
; (1 server found)
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 50382
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;pike.forumexperts.com.         IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
pike.forumexperts.com.  86066   IN      A       68.209.234.91

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
forumexperts.com.       86066   IN      NS      ns1.forumexperts.com.
forumexperts.com.       86066   IN      NS      ns2.forumexperts.com.

;; Query time: 1 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Mon Oct  3 16:30:32 2005
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 91
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th October 2005, 00:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

And is 68.209.234.91 your public IP address?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th October 2005, 00:37
mghodge mghodge is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
And is 68.209.234.91 your public IP address?
Yes, it's static. I have given up on ISPConfig and uninstalled it from the testbed. It just doesn't seem ready for prime-time. Thanks for your attempt to help.

Last edited by mghodge; 4th October 2005 at 02:56.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th October 2005, 11:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mghodge
Yes, it's static. I have given up on ISPConfig and uninstalled it from the testbed. It just doesn't seem ready for prime-time. Thanks for your attempt to help.
I'm sure your problems don't arise from ISPConfig itself, but rather from your network-/router configuration.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.