#1  
Old 15th October 2006, 16:23
Randy Randy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Odd question for Falko

Dear Falko,
I'm in the process of setting up a very small ISP with your software. I'm also testing your howto on "How To Set Up A Loadbalanced High-Availability Apache Cluster". May I first of all thank you for all the knowledge you give to the community ! I'm not a linux expert but I'm hoping to get there. The questions I have for you should probably not even be in this forum but I wouldn't know how else to ask you this, so please forgive me, and maybe redirect me otherwise. Question: My situation is that I have two identical servers on which I want to install ISPconfig.Budget doesn't allow a third and forth one. Would it be possible to also implement on these two servers the ispconfig and the howto on high-availability just so that if one of them breaks, the other one totally takes over? Mysql can already be replicated in a master-master configuration. Also I have already rsynced the users and apache sites. Quick notes on which configs I should change then and how? Last question, do you know the command in opensuse 10.1 to do the equavalent of the following in debian where you add lo:0 to the interfaces:
"auto lo:0
iface lo:0 inet static
address 192.168.0.105
netmask 255.255.255.255
pre-up sysctl -p > /dev/null"
Ofcourse this is from your high availability howto. This is because I've also been checking out the perfect opensuse 10.1 setup.
I would greatly appreciate any pointers you could give me.
Sincerely,

Randy
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th October 2006, 15:58
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy
Would it be possible to also implement on these two servers the ispconfig and the howto on high-availability just so that if one of them breaks, the other one totally takes over?
Should be possible, although I haven't tried this. But you can take a look here: http://www.ultramonkey.org/3/topologies/ha-eg.html
http://www.ultramonkey.org/3/topolog...-ha-lb-eg.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy
Last question, do you know the command in opensuse 10.1 to do the equavalent of the following in debian where you add lo:0 to the interfaces:
"auto lo:0
iface lo:0 inet static
address 192.168.0.105
netmask 255.255.255.255
pre-up sysctl -p > /dev/null"
Ofcourse this is from your high availability howto. This is because I've also been checking out the perfect opensuse 10.1 setup.
I don't know the commands for SuSE 10.1, however I don't recommend to use SuSE 10.1 on a server. It's not the, erm, best distribution...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Uninstall Question toyito Installation/Configuration 7 6th June 2007 10:05
sendmail config question westb Server Operation 1 1st September 2006 18:00
Simple question... I think - re: multiple domains. lidocayne Installation/Configuration 1 17th July 2006 12:53
Really Basic Question !!! brainz Installation/Configuration 7 14th March 2006 00:20
ISPconfig question AngelDrago Installation/Configuration 2 26th September 2005 19:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.