Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th October 2006, 23:21
harm harm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default software dependencies and configuration files and questions

in VHCS i can configure all config files and templates by hand before the actual installation or even when the system is up and running. For instance, i can use the debian .deb package for phpmyadmin instead of using the PMA that came with VHCS. This way it stays better up2date, since the debian packagemanagers keep an eye out for updates. The vhcs team has something else on there mind

How does ISPCONFIG handle this ? does it rely on regular packages from the distro's repository or does it ship with its own versions... And if so, is it easy to break with that and "symlink your way to using system packages"

furthermore:
can i manually edit zonefiles from a customer login ?
can i add customers with only mail/domain ? (NO webspace)
is there 1 quota for both mail AND web ?
what happens when quota is exceeded? (admin gets an email, site displays error regarding traffic ?)
How does it handle backup mail and secondary (or even more) nameserver ?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th October 2006, 15:00
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harm
How does ISPCONFIG handle this ? does it rely on regular packages from the distro's repository
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by harm
can i manually edit zonefiles from a customer login ?
You can edit the zone files on the command line.

Quote:
Originally Posted by harm
can i add customers with only mail/domain ? (NO webspace)
No.

Quote:
Originally Posted by harm
is there 1 quota for both mail AND web ?
That depends whether you use mbox or Maildir format for your mailboxes. You have two separate quotas if you use mbox, but only one quota if you use Maildir (because Maildir is within the web site's root directory).
Quote:
Originally Posted by harm
what happens when quota is exceeded? (admin gets an email, site displays error regarding traffic ?)
You're mixing up storage space and traffic. If the storage space is full (quota), then sender's will get a notification if their mails couldn't be sent. Regarding the traffic you can specify monthly traffic limits for each web site, and you can also specify if the site should be suspended if it exceeds traffic, or if notifications hsould be sent only.
Quote:
Originally Posted by harm
How does it handle backup mail and secondary (or even more) nameserver ?
Backup MX doesn't have to be handled by ISPConfig, it's merely a matter of how you set up your MX records. Regarding secondary nameservers, have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th October 2006, 15:17
harm harm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Im building ispconfig atm and i noticed it ships with its own apache/ssl/php to use for the control panel itself (i asume)... Why arent you using distro software here to ? its not that hard to get another apache running side by side

edit:
btw, i meant editting zonefiles from within ispconfig.. ofcourse they can be handled from cli

Last edited by harm; 10th October 2006 at 15:25.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th October 2006, 10:37
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,983
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,372 Times in 4,219 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harm
Im building ispconfig atm and i noticed it ships with its own apache/ssl/php to use for the control panel itself (i asume)... Why arent you using distro software here to ? its not that hard to get another apache running side by side
Because we support many linux distributions and not all of them ship with a apache / PHP that suits our needs.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.