#1  
Old 6th October 2006, 08:53
S.A.H.A S.A.H.A is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig firewall

After enabling ISPConfigs firewall i can't connect trough vnc to the server, I opened the ports 5800 and 5900 but i still cant connect.
What could be the reason me not be able to connect?

And I also would like to know if ther is a way that i could open up a port range in ispconfigs firewall?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th October 2006, 11:28
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,986
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,647 Times in 4,457 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.H.A
After enabling ISPConfigs firewall i can't connect trough vnc to the server, I opened the ports 5800 and 5900 but i still cant connect.
What could be the reason me not be able to connect?
Did you open the ports as TCP and UDP?

Quote:
And I also would like to know if ther is a way that i could open up a port range in ispconfigs firewall?
No, thats not possible. But you may use any other firewall with ISPConfig if you need advanced features, but you wont be able then to manage the firewall within ISPConfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th October 2006, 18:35
unixfox unixfox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just added a firewall rule for vnc on port 5901 with tcp only and it worked.

If you have a hardware firewall you will have to open that port as well.

Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th October 2006, 13:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.H.A
After enabling ISPConfigs firewall i can't connect trough vnc to the server, I opened the ports 5800 and 5900 but i still cant connect.
What could be the reason me not be able to connect?
If unixfox' suggestion doesn't work, make sure you switched any other firewall on your server before you switched on ISPConfig's firewall because otherwise firewall rules might interfere with each other.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th October 2006, 01:22
S.A.H.A S.A.H.A is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thank you for your help, the problem was that I forgot to turn the FC5 firewall off.
I also noticed that the tightvnc client i use uses prort 5902 and not 5901.

Thank you again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig Firewall PortMan Installation/Configuration 6 10th August 2006 18:25
Maybe ISPConfig firewall problem? DennisDee General 1 21st June 2006 12:55
ISPConfig - Behind Hardware Firewall RunneR General 4 30th May 2006 04:54
ISPConfig Security - Firewall cybereatl Installation/Configuration 5 2nd April 2006 18:02
ISPConfig configuration or ipcop firewall being the cuase of trouble? AZMel Installation/Configuration 6 15th March 2006 01:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.