#1  
Old 8th August 2005, 09:46
Jack Ouzzi Jack Ouzzi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Deepest Fenland Lincolnshire UK
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Running LiveCD on a Laptop

New Linux user trying out a PCLinux 'Live' CD which runs fine on my desktop but 'hangs' on the laptop. Have tried the livecd noapic nolapic acpi=off command but still hangs on:

'Unable to mount loop filesystem, dropping you to a limited shell'

Any ideas please. Thanks

Dell Notebook I6000 - P4 1.6Ghz - 504Mb Ram
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th August 2005, 09:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Must be some hardware not being supported...
Have you tried Knoppix (http://www.knoppix.org/) on your laptop? It's another Linux live CD, probably the best known.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th October 2006, 02:41
bahndo bahndo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default knoopix on acer 5670

newbie to linux trying to run knoppix live dvd on acer5670. While booting it hangs up at Starting PCMCIA card services. I read another post about running linux on this same laptop and encountering the same problem. The solution was:

" The fix for him was to disable pcmcia services. This is done by booting the rescue CD, then going to the /etc/rc.5 directory, then renaming the file "S09pcmcia" to "K09pcmcia". "
Since I am running from a live dvd and not installing how can rename the file?
thanks, Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th October 2006, 14:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bahndo
Since I am running from a live dvd and not installing how can rename the file?
You can't.
Doesn't Knoppix offer a safe mode that you can use to boot? Try that.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th October 2006, 01:35
badgerbox76 badgerbox76 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 178
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Both of you should try Ubuntu for your first distro. It's very ez to use and it has great hardware support. I have tryed many distros but none have been as great as Ubuntu. It also works well with your laptop wifi cards. If you are looking for a speeder Ubuntu try Xubuntu it runs the Xfce gui which is much lighter then Gnome and looks about the same.

Here are the links:
Ubuntu http://www.ubuntu.org/
Xubuntu http://www.xubuntu.org/

Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th October 2006, 07:04
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,257
Thanks: 213
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
 
Default

MEPIS, based on Ubuntu/Debian has a great live CD.
You can consider that as well.
http://mepis.org/
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Master in managed hosting
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which user am I running under? milena Technical 1 3rd May 2005 12:10
Which Kernel Version am I running? redstar Kernel Questions 1 20th April 2005 19:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.