Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th September 2005, 21:01
walter walter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default browse before DNS propagation

Gents, first of all, great job!
I installed on ISPC Suse 9.3. When I create a site, the sistem create (correctly, I hope) a Webxx_yyyyyyy folder.
FTPis working immediatly, but... How can I access the page through a browser during the DNS propagation? Thanx. Walter
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st October 2005, 02:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by walter
Gents, first of all, great job!
I installed on ISPC Suse 9.3. When I create a site, the sistem create (correctly, I hope) a Webxx_yyyyyyy folder.
FTPis working immediatly, but... How can I access the page through a browser during the DNS propagation? Thanx. Walter
If it's your first vhost in Apache, you could use the IP address. Or you can add the domain to your Windows hosts file (if you are on Windows). Please have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=281
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st October 2005, 20:35
walter walter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default browse before DNS propagation

Thank you. I try to better explain. DNS is working fine after the propagation, but having xxx.yyy.zzz.kkk IP address and having webxx_yyyy new folder site, I tried to point with

http://xxx.yyy.zzz.kkk/webxx_yyyy
http://xxx.yyy.zzz.kkk/~webxx_yyyy
http://xxx.yyy.zzz.kkk/username

but with no success (404 )

What's wrong??

Walter


[QUOTE=falko]If it's your first vhost in Apache, you could use the IP address.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd October 2005, 02:19
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
 
Default

[QUOTE=walter]Thank you. I try to better explain. DNS is working fine after the propagation, but having xxx.yyy.zzz.kkk IP address and having webxx_yyyy new folder site, I tried to point with

http://xxx.yyy.zzz.kkk/webxx_yyyy
http://xxx.yyy.zzz.kkk/~webxx_yyyy
http://xxx.yyy.zzz.kkk/username

but with no success (404 )

What's wrong??

Walter


Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
If it's your first vhost in Apache, you could use the IP address.
You have to use http://xxx.yyy.zzz.kkk .
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can not browse using "WWW" prefix domino Installation/Configuration 17 5th November 2005 16:47


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.