#1  
Old 4th September 2006, 09:20
lwizardl lwizardl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig newbie

Hi this is my first time setting up a real server not just a modded xbox running gentoox (Gentoo linux for xbox). I have the pdf file printed for ISPConfig and I'm not seeing how to get this working correctly.

I have a site registered with godaddy.com and wanting to run my own dns server in-house. What I'm trying to do is exactly this

I'm running a Ubuntu 6.06 LTS server used the howtoforge.com perfect guide.

sites needs to allow for PHP (going to be using DragonFly CMS), MySQL, Emails, Mailing Lists, etc.

EMAILS:
firstname.lastname@
info@
webmaster@
listserv@
mailinglists@

If someone wanted to help me with this I do have AIM, my screen name is "collectorarcade"

James Davis
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th September 2006, 09:40
torusturtle torusturtle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 21
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to torusturtle Send a message via AIM to torusturtle
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lwizardl
Hi this is my first time setting up a real server not just a modded xbox running gentoox (Gentoo linux for xbox). I have the pdf file printed for ISPConfig and I'm not seeing how to get this working correctly.

I have a site registered with godaddy.com and wanting to run my own dns server in-house. What I'm trying to do is exactly this

I'm running a Ubuntu 6.06 LTS server used the howtoforge.com perfect guide.

sites needs to allow for PHP (going to be using DragonFly CMS), MySQL, Emails, Mailing Lists, etc.

EMAILS:
firstname.lastname@
info@
webmaster@
listserv@
mailinglists@

If someone wanted to help me with this I do have AIM, my screen name is "collectorarcade"

James Davis
Hi James

Please read the manual that ships with ISPConfig. Try to configure all your stuff and if there are questions please write us the exact problem you're having.

ISPconfig is a great application, take your time to get to know it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th September 2006, 19:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Also have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...eller+customer
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th September 2006, 15:57
lwizardl lwizardl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default newbie

ok this is what i have setup so far maybe i just missed something? I did use the Ubuntu 6.06 Perfect setup guide by falko

also when i do a apache reload i get a warning about not having any virtualhosts
/etc/init.d/apache2 force-reload
* Forcing reload of apache 2.0 web server... [Wed Sep 06 09:06:13 2006] [warn] NameVirtualHost xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Sep 06 09:06:14 2006] [warn] NameVirtualHost xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80 has no VirtualHosts
[ ok ]

created a Client named James Davis (me) and made 3 hosting packages (Bronze, Silver, Gold) then created a site here are the settings (minus real ip's etc)

note [ ] stands for either blank or unchecked

server: RedServer
hostname: www
domain: sitename.net

ip address: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (given to me from isp)
create DNS [x]
create DNS-MX [x]

shell access [x]
cgi scripts [x]
standard cgis [x]
php scripts [x]
php safe mode [x]
ssi [x]
ftp access [x]
mysql [x]
number of databases [5]
ssl [x]
anonymous ftp [ ]
anon. ftp mb [-1]
wap [x]
individual error pages [x]
mailuser login [x]
apache directives (optional) [ ]

User & Email
created a user

Co-Domains
ip: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx hostname: [ ] sitename.net
ip: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx hostname: mail mail.sitename.net

SSL
country: United States
Province: Michigan
Town: Battle Creek
Company: sitename
department: web
validity (days): 365
ssl request: [ ]
ssl certificate: [ ]
action: [ ]

Options
i created a database here

I would give the real ips and such but without this being fully configure and such I don't want to give any prying eye even more of an open floodgate to say hack me.

what did I miss on the locations of where the sites are? becuase it auto makes a folder in /var/www called web1 with a folder called web for me to store the site into but when i upload the site to it and go to the domain url sitename.net it just brings up the default directory listing of /var/www

James

aim its collectorarcade

Last edited by lwizardl; 6th September 2006 at 16:08.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th September 2006, 03:01
lwizardl lwizardl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default bump

no one has any ideas ?

james
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th September 2006, 11:36
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Is your server behind a router? Then you must select the internal IP for the website, not the external IP address.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th September 2006, 21:19
lwizardl lwizardl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default isp

yeah i have a router the ip on the server box is set as static 192.168.1.9

i have ports 22,25,43,53,80,81 forwarded to the server box 192.168.1.9
and If you go to my domain url it just brings you to the drectory list for /var/www

james
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th September 2006, 11:29
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Please check your httpd configuration file and make sure that the Vhost_ispconfig.conf file is included at the end of the file. It may happen that a update from your linux distribution had removed it.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th September 2006, 04:46
lwizardl lwizardl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ispconfig

yes it was listed without a # in front. I just give up on ispconfig i'm going back to webmin.

thanks.

james
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th September 2006, 15:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lwizardl
also when i do a apache reload i get a warning about not having any virtualhosts
/etc/init.d/apache2 force-reload
* Forcing reload of apache 2.0 web server... [Wed Sep 06 09:06:13 2006] [warn] NameVirtualHost xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Sep 06 09:06:14 2006] [warn] NameVirtualHost xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80 has no VirtualHosts
You can ignore this for now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwizardl
what did I miss on the locations of where the sites are? becuase it auto makes a folder in /var/www called web1 with a folder called web for me to store the site into but when i upload the site to it and go to the domain url sitename.net it just brings up the default directory listing of /var/www
What's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
and what's in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf? I guess you're using the wrong IP addresses.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cannot access ispconfig site Nu2Linux Installation/Configuration 13 3rd January 2009 16:29
Migrating from Virtualmin to ISPConfig xare Installation/Configuration 3 16th July 2006 13:58
ISPConfig 2.3.1-dev released till General 0 8th May 2006 23:18
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 16:16
Newbie trying ISPConfig NewbieUser General 3 14th March 2006 00:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.