#1  
Old 28th September 2006, 10:33
Dwalf Dwalf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Change Documentroot for client

I have a client who wants the document root changed to "/web/line" the default is "/web"

I been looking at the Directives in the consol of ispconfig.

I added the line

DocumentRoot /var/www/web24/web/line

i can see the line added to the vhosts_ispconfig.conf file but it adds 2 DocumentRoot lines.

Plus the path does not change.

I must be doing something wrong.
I cannot use any "forwarders" to the line folder as this is how his site was built with this path.

Thanks in advance

Dwalf
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th September 2006, 12:14
denmaus denmaus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default easy way is to create a symlink

the easy way is to create a symlink for the directory...

Quote:
ln -s /YOUR_DIR /NEW_DIR
example:
Quote:
ln -s /var/www/web24/web /var/www/web24/web/line
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th September 2006, 14:09
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwalf
I added the line

DocumentRoot /var/www/web24/web/line
If you put this in the Apache Directives filed, it has no effect because it is overridden by the original DocumentRoot line which comes later in the vhost configuration.
If you changed it directly in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf: it will be overwritten the next time ISPConfig changes Vhosts_ispconfig.conf.

But you can change the function make_vhost() in /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/config.lib.php.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th September 2006, 16:33
Dwalf Dwalf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi all

Thanks, But still not working,
Creating a link just did not work since WEB is already there.

I tried to edit the vhosts_ispconfig.conf but i think it only works for new sites and not existing ones.

It would be nice if one could set the documentroot.

For now I will redo the clients site this weekend but in the future it would be reall cool to be able to do this.

Thanks for all the help

Dwalf
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st October 2006, 00:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwalf
I tried to edit the vhosts_ispconfig.conf but i think it only works for new sites and not existing ones.
You must restart Apache after your changes.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leting users change the email password? edge Server Operation 6 21st April 2008 01:21
I need to change the master domain minskog Installation/Configuration 5 7th July 2006 11:08
Change document root ftp from / to web - how? tom Installation/Configuration 11 23rd April 2006 00:49
websites outside ISPConfig guidovanh Installation/Configuration 13 7th March 2006 22:56
how to change server name lexcomputer Installation/Configuration 1 12th October 2005 10:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.