Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st September 2006, 11:38
fobicodam fobicodam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to fobicodam
Angry Again, 2gb limit size..

Ok, now i HAVE a problem... the same old f"$)($" linux problem, how can it be that php cant open files bigger than 2gb ?!?!?!?! can anyone help me with that?? the log files are 4, 5, 9 Gb and webalizer cant open them !!!

Plus: cant you put some kind of error handling for this cases? one site has an error and no stats for anyone !!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st September 2006, 12:03
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,771
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,331 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default

Thes solution will be that the php developers are dropping the 2 GB file limit, I really dont know why any other modern programming language except of php seems to support large files

The current workaround is to create daily logfiles, there must be some threads about that in the forum including some patching advice.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st September 2006, 15:52
fobicodam fobicodam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to fobicodam
Default

Yes, i guess i was the first to suggest the daily log file, but i have a BIG problem now, one site individual daily log is 4.2GB !!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st September 2006, 16:05
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Thes solution will be that the php developers are dropping the 2 GB file limit, I really dont know why any other modern programming language except of php seems to support large files

The current workaround is to create daily logfiles, there must be some threads about that in the forum including some patching advice.
@Till: What about doing sth. like

head -2 web.log | tail -2
head -4 web.log | tail -2
head -6 web.log | tail -2
...

to read a file from shell blockwise via shell (here 2 lines) for each call
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st September 2006, 16:05
Turophile Turophile is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: /dev/urandom
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fobicodam
Yes, i guess i was the first to suggest the daily log file, but i have a BIG problem now, one site individual daily log is 4.2GB !!!
Run an hourly cronjob to check, parse and rotate
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st September 2006, 17:48
fobicodam fobicodam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to fobicodam
Default

I asked for that a long time ago and everybody says it will corrupt the webalizer stats..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd September 2006, 00:01
Turophile Turophile is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: /dev/urandom
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fobicodam
I asked for that a long time ago and everybody says it will corrupt the webalizer stats..
I've used it in the past with much success though, I'm not sure why it'd corrupt it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd September 2006, 00:24
fobicodam fobicodam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to fobicodam
Default

Do you say i can run the "log/webalizer" scripts whitout problems every hour?!?!?!?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22nd September 2006, 01:14
Turophile Turophile is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: /dev/urandom
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fobicodam
Do you say i can run the "log/webalizer" scripts whitout problems every hour?!?!?!?

Sure, just setup the cron to:
webalizer,
logrotate (with -f)

It works fine here. You need to rotate the log out otherwise it may re-parse all the data.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd September 2006, 02:10
fobicodam fobicodam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to fobicodam
 
Default

Can you write here the exact config for cron?

thanks you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Availability Samba cluster - DRBD + Heartbeat djalex Server Operation 58 25th May 2007 19:38
file size limit exceeded lifeisboost General 10 1st August 2006 10:51
Limit mysql database size ddelbia Feature Requests 14 25th April 2006 21:42
File size limit exceeded ? igorj General 4 16th March 2006 11:41
Ispconfig and Virtuemart shajazzi Installation/Configuration 7 21st February 2006 20:25


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.