#1  
Old 19th September 2006, 15:23
jang jang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Crontab issue, 2 questions

Hi,

I have a ISPconfig on a Ubuntu server based on the How to Perfect Setup tutorials.

When I do crontab -e it opens up in Midnight Commander (great for filebrowsing), but I want it to open in the VI-editor:
How do I change the setting?

Since it is not supported from the ISPConfig admin screens:
What is the best place to put my own daily crontab jobs for my websites?
(www.site.com/update.php etc) (in the ISP crontab or the etc/cron.daily?)
and how should I configure it.

Thanks,

Jang
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 20th September 2006, 17:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jang
When I do crontab -e it opens up in Midnight Commander (great for filebrowsing), but I want it to open in the VI-editor:
How do I change the setting?
Do this:

Code:
rm -f /etc/alternatives/editor
ln -s /usr/bin/vi /etc/alternatives/editor
Quote:
Originally Posted by jang
Since it is not supported from the ISPConfig admin screens:
What is the best place to put my own daily crontab jobs for my websites?
(www.site.com/update.php etc) (in the ISP crontab or the etc/cron.daily?)
and how should I configure it.
You can either put a shell script in /etc/cron.daily, it will be called everyday between 6.00h and 7.00h in the morning, or you run
Code:
crontab -e
and put your cron job there (which gives you more flexibility as to when you want to run it).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th September 2006, 19:39
jang jang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

It took me a while but i already did it like this:

update-alternatives --config editor

and edited the crontab -e like you suggested.

Thx,

Jang
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hostname & DNS questions... SurfingAlien Installation/Configuration 6 16th October 2007 16:32
Nothing in crontab punto Installation/Configuration 8 1st August 2006 00:01
Strange FTP issue punto Installation/Configuration 2 27th July 2006 14:14
crontab entries... zokahn General 2 23rd April 2006 10:55
Newbie questions SidSkiba Installation/Configuration 2 29th August 2005 20:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.