#1  
Old 18th September 2006, 23:46
BillDougy BillDougy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Screen Resolution Problem

When I try to adjust the resolution on my desktop i dont get a regular resolution change in anything above 800x600 or what ever that one is...i get a desktop where you cant see everything... you have to move the mouse to the edge of the screen to see the rest of the desktop area..... i am running mandriva 2006 free with an ati radeon 9250 with a gateway 21" flat screen LCD.... is there anyway i can get a higher resolution with out having to move around to see all of the screen?.... by the way i am a linux noob so go easy on me....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th September 2006, 16:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

It seems as if your graphics card isn't fully supported by your distribution. Maybe ATI has Linux drivers for your card...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th September 2006, 19:22
BillDougy BillDougy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i figured it out... i had to reinstall linux but it got fixed now the only problem is that most of the time i boot up it tries to start x but it goes to a black screen and locks up.... the only way i can get it to work every now and again is to go to linux-non-fb not sure what that is but it works.... any ideas how to fix that....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th September 2006, 19:00
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillDougy
the only way i can get it to work every now and again is to go to linux-non-fb not sure what that is but it works.... any ideas how to fix that....
It seems the other kernels don't support your graphics card. I'd simply go on using linux-non-fb.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd September 2006, 18:15
shec0002 shec0002 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default Did you try ATI

I know that some people are linux purests, and would hit me for saying this, but you may want to try ATI's closed drivers. I would start here https://support.ati.com/ics/support/...e&folderID=300
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
postfix problems with smtp linkdeb Server Operation 13 15th March 2014 18:58
Strange email problem for one of my domains... any help appreciated paulrobert_a Installation/Configuration 5 9th August 2010 15:15
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 13:20
Postfix+MySQL Problem jasutton Installation/Configuration 1 15th June 2006 17:06
SMTP TLS Problem with Mail Client dschmid Installation/Configuration 1 9th December 2005 02:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.