#1  
Old 27th September 2005, 02:37
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default Opened ports?

I ran the port test in the control panel and it came up with the following results:
Code:
    Port 21 (tcp) is open (ftp)!
    Port 22 (tcp) is open (ssh)!
    Port 25 (tcp) is open (smtp)!
    Port 80 (tcp) is open (http)!
    Port 81 (tcp) is open (unknown)!
    Port 110 (tcp) is open (pop3)!
    Port 111 (tcp) is open (sunrpc)!
    Port 139 (tcp) is open (netbios-ssn)!
    Port 143 (tcp) is open (imap)!
    Port 443 (tcp) is open (https)!
    Port 445 (tcp) is open (microsoft-ds)!
    Port 631 (tcp) is open (ipp)!
    Port 993 (tcp) is open (imaps)!
    Port 995 (tcp) is open (pop3s)!
    Port 3306 (tcp) is open (mysql)!
Does this look correct?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th September 2005, 07:19
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

If you never access SSH outside of the network, I suggest closing SSH port. Port 139 looks questionable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th September 2005, 15:17
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

There is a chance I will be using SSH in the future, but I don't need it now. I will go ahead and close it.

I thought the 139 was questionable as well, but after researching it, it looks like Samba uses it. I am running Samba on my Linux server.

Actually, I ran this test locally at the server from the ISP control panel. Is this showing the ports opened on the local IP or is it an actual test of ports that were successfully accessed from outside my LAN?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th September 2005, 15:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

It is a portscan on localhost.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th September 2005, 15:31
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

I thought it was, but wanted to make sure.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th September 2005, 18:46
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Here is a link to scan your server from the outside. It will basically scan knows ports that can be seen from outside of your network. Don't be allarmed if it warns you of open ports. That's why you are running a server . Just click on: Proceed --> Contunue --> All Service Ports

https://grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2

I mentioned to close SSH. I meant close it from being accessed from outside of your network if you are not accessing it through the internet .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th September 2005, 19:08
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

I have used the Shields Up program before. It showed that everything was in order. Thanks for the reference.

Do you know, is there a way to manually enter a WAN IP directly instead of it reading your currently WAN IP? I am not at my server at the moment but would like to test it. I would be surprised if you could enter an IP to test since it would give hackers a tool to probe the web for potentially open networks...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th September 2005, 07:13
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

As far as I know, I have not seen an online public scanner that will target a particular IP and port. Thats what Nmap "Network Mapper" tools are used for
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th September 2005, 09:11
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,238
Thanks: 70
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
Default

what you can try if you really want t otry this online scanners is, ssh to your server and go surfing with lynx (textbased broswer ) a lot of fun in there, although I have to admit I did not succeed because I didn't read the man lynx pages, but it should work...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th September 2005, 09:28
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
 
Default

I was forced to use lynx last night because Webmin would only allow access to localhost when first installed . I had to use lynx (fun!) to config Webmin. I love the graphics .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.