#1  
Old 17th September 2006, 04:50
resnostyle resnostyle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default nic card not starting

okay, i ruined a good running machine. i believe i messed up a config file or maybe corrupted the files. i was in the process or updating infor using ispconfig. then i restarted my computer.

when i start it up during the time it brings the nic card up it hangs longer than usual. and when it usually connects to the time server it fails.

temporary failure in name resolution.
and it also disables irq 11. is that the nic card? i forget all the irqs.

Thanks to any who help!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th September 2006, 20:14
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

can you post the part of /var/log/messages from reboot till end of the reboot?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th September 2006, 20:38
resnostyle resnostyle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben
can you post the part of /var/log/messages from reboot till end of the reboot?
if thats the directory the file is empty.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th September 2006, 11:17
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Can you check the output of
Code:
dmesg
for errors regarding your network configuration?
Which distribution do you use?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th September 2006, 16:31
resnostyle resnostyle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

i am using ubuntu breezy badger 5.10.

after running the command i see eth0: no IPv6 routers present.

what is the command to make the screen pause so I can see all the messages because there is some off the screen.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th September 2006, 15:23
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by resnostyle
what is the command to make the screen pause so I can see all the messages because there is some off the screen.
Use
Code:
dmesg | more
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Integrated Graphics Controller and PCI Dual Head Graphics Card awgieD Technical 2 8th September 2006 10:08
Username-creation with prefix [DOMAIN]_ and domains starting with numbers julez Feature Requests 1 22nd August 2006 13:32
Linksys WMP45GS NIC card sgilbert33 Installation/Configuration 0 4th May 2006 16:22
Wireless card setup sgilbert33 Installation/Configuration 0 24th April 2006 18:26
Network Card roadrunner Kernel Questions 4 25th March 2006 17:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.