Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th September 2006, 23:25
zicoz zicoz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hostname problem in TPS Ubuntu 6.06

I'm currently trying to work my way trough the tutorial "The Perfect Setup - Ubuntu 6.06 LTS Server (Dapper Drake)". And I'm now at the 3rd page doing the /etc/hosts part.

The tutorial sais that I should get atum.zicoz.org (my version of server1.example.com) on both "hostname" and "hostname -f" but when I do "hostname" I only get "atum". Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

And also, in the next step I'm supposed to use Putty to edit some other stuff. Are there any guides on how to use this program? And on hostname should I put in "atum.zicoz.org", "192.168.0.100" or somthing else as the hostname in Putty?

ps: I'm a Linux-noob, so be gentle with me
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th September 2006, 23:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,729 Times in 2,567 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zicoz
The tutorial sais that I should get atum.zicoz.org (my version of server1.example.com) on both "hostname" and "hostname -f" but when I do "hostname" I only get "atum". Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?
That's ok, nothing to worry about.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zicoz
And also, in the next step I'm supposed to use Putty to edit some other stuff. Are there any guides on how to use this program?
Do you mean vi? Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/faq/12_15_en.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by zicoz
And on hostname should I put in "atum.zicoz.org", "192.168.0.100" or somthing else as the hostname in Putty?
Use atum.zicoz.org.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th September 2006, 16:12
ToysunStory ToysunStory is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zicoz
The tutorial sais that I should get atum.zicoz.org (my version of server1.example.com) on both "hostname" and "hostname -f" but when I do "hostname" I only get "atum". Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?
echo atum.zicoz.org > /etc/hostname
/bin/hostname -F /etc/hostname

Quote:
Originally Posted by zicoz
And also, in the next step I'm supposed to use Putty to edit some other stuff. Are there any guides on how to use this program? And on hostname should I put in "atum.zicoz.org", "192.168.0.100" or somthing else as the hostname in Putty?
http://www.jfitz.com/tips/putty_config.html
http://the.earth.li/~sgtatham/putty/0.58/htmldoc/

good luck
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu 6.06 Ispconfig problem crabbox Installation/Configuration 12 6th November 2006 20:59
Perfect Install - Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper Questions Anim HOWTO-Related Questions 123 1st October 2006 13:02
Quota problem on ubuntu 6.06 perfect setup. mandrakethepenguin HOWTO-Related Questions 4 3rd August 2006 16:34
Hostname problems Ubuntu 6.06 setup badgerbox76 Installation/Configuration 1 13th June 2006 07:59
Ubuntu update from 5.10 to 6.06 - its allok for ispconfig? adrenalinic General 2 10th June 2006 20:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.