Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Kernel Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th September 2006, 13:07
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,033
Thanks: 261
Thanked 147 Times in 128 Posts
Default Updating 2.6.8-3-686-smp to 2.6.17.13?

Not sure if this can be done an easy way, and if it's wise to do!

On http://www.kernel.org/ they are saying that the latest stable version of the Linux kernel is: 2.6.17.13

I'm now using 2.6.8-3-686-smp with my Debian server!
Can I update this to the 2.6.17.13 version, and if so.. will it automatically be a -686-smp version (me think not)

I've done kernel update, but only with apt-get install kernel-image-2....
How would you do an update from www.kernels.org?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th September 2006, 14:41
pablito pablito is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Great White North, eh
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I don't know Debian but if their prebuilt kernels are very recent they are usually "back ported" with fixes from newer kernels.

However if you want to compile from the raw source from kernel.org you will have to compile it yourself. This has the benefit of allowing you to customize it for your machine, only compiling the parts you really need and other goodies and options you might want. The prebuilt kernels from distros are more generic so they will work on a variety of machines and CPUs. Custom built ones are leaner and meaner.

So yes, building the kernel yourself can be 686SMP specific if you choose the right options during the build. It can be a daunting process at first but worth learning. Google for tons of help files and documents about doing this. the 2.6 versions use a more streamlined process than older versions so don't be put off by instructions for the older versions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th September 2006, 17:40
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
 
Default

Sure you can switch but you have to configure it your own.

Normally Debian as well as the other distros don't have the same version number than the actual one but the include bugfixes especially on security issues their own...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora Core 2 - DNS Not updating jackaltx Installation/Configuration 21 24th November 2008 13:06
Preview new site not still visible for DNS updating adrenalinic Installation/Configuration 1 12th May 2006 10:51
Problems installing NForce4 sound drivers Wraithfire Installation/Configuration 21 16th April 2006 17:30
KErnel not showing all my memory Jorem Kernel Questions 8 13th April 2006 12:59
Updating of the SUSE 9.3 system bogdinator Installation/Configuration 1 7th March 2006 13:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.