#1  
Old 26th September 2005, 13:58
dranieri dranieri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to dranieri
Default Management Console

Settings under server tab!

Server Name: Candlevolt Server 1. Is this a correct choice?
Hostname: www is this a correct choice?
Domain: candlevolt.com is this a correct choice, or doesn't not matter what goes here?
www.candlevolt.com is our registered domain with our hosting company at present. I redirected the site to 192.168.1.103? When the url is typed www.candlevolt.com we get the default apache2 place holder and the IP address shows up in the url when loaded.
IP Address: 192.168.1.103 arrived at from the perfect setup directions. Is this correct?
Netmask: 255.255.255.0 I believe this is correct so said ipconfig.
Admin Email: admin@candlevolt.com is this correct?
IP List: Nothing here. Is this where if I want multiple sites I add 192.168.1.104 or is this a special purpose better left to the more educated than I?
__________________
Thank You,
David

Last edited by dranieri; 26th September 2005 at 14:08. Reason: Corrections
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th September 2005, 18:19
k5tao k5tao is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Change your IP Address

That address needs to be the address of your server. The 192.X address will not work on the internet, only internal.


Mark
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th September 2005, 18:22
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,389
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,485 Times in 4,317 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k5tao
That address needs to be the address of your server. The 192.X address will not work on the internet, only internal.
Your right if the server is not in a local network. If the server is behind a NAT router the private IP might be ok.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th September 2005, 23:27
dranieri dranieri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to dranieri
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Your right if the server is not in a local network. If the server is behind a NAT router the private IP might be ok.
Correct.
We use a linksys cable firewall router. When setting up following the tutorial we used ipconfig from our windows and linux box to find the ip address when setting up this IP was not pingable from a dos prompt after entering the 192.168.1.103 to the I believe it was the ip file. The setup pinged the address and continued on.
__________________
Thank You,
David
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th September 2005, 23:28
dranieri dranieri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to dranieri
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k5tao
That address needs to be the address of your server. The 192.X address will not work on the internet, only internal.


Mark
Thank you this is the address of the server.
__________________
Thank You,
David
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th September 2005, 23:32
dranieri dranieri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to dranieri
Default No access to world

default apache2 place holder and the IP address shows up in the url when loaded.
Is the purpose for to have a place to put our main company files "website" on?
If so how can the world see it. My wife can not get to it from outside our office.
Ftping with firezilla will only allow user access not root access
__________________
Thank You,
David
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th September 2005, 00:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dranieri
If so how can the world see it. My wife can not get to it from outside our office.
I think you need to understand the difference between public and private IP addresses before you go any further.

http://www.pku.edu.cn/academic/resea...ml/TC0305.html
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_IP_address

You've set the DNS record for www.candlevolt.com to a private IP address, that's why nobody from the outside world can see it...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th September 2005, 00:32
dranieri dranieri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to dranieri
 
Default

Thank you, will go to links right now and start studying.

Is our plan to run a remote backup facility out of the question for perfect setup and ispconfig?

What do you recomend with the domains we have hosted now?

Is easydns services of any help to us?
__________________
Thank You,
David
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
configure as a secondary mail server xma General 6 15th February 2006 13:46
IP server popup unwanted domain Hellbound General 2 16th September 2005 20:53
Server can't "see" the internet Luciano Installation/Configuration 8 22nd August 2005 23:22
DNS Server not responding tmoore Installation/Configuration 4 18th August 2005 18:59
Maildir / Server Settings m u r Installation/Configuration 3 18th August 2005 10:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.