Old 7th September 2006, 03:09

Talking Need a new box...

Didn't really know where to put this post, but I'm looking to buy a system to run a *nix based home web-server. I've found a good deal on a box with a MSI motherboard (K9VGMV) and processor (AMD Sempron 64 2800+) (total is less than $500). But from what I'm reading there are problems with 64 bit systems running *nix. Can anyone suggest an affordable system or are there pretty easy work arounds for the 64 bit systems?

I'm a major noob, but am looking forward to learning a new system other than windows (Bill Gates is rich enough if you ask me!)
Regards!
Jim Adams
Sponsored Links
Old 7th September 2006, 08:14
Local Meanie

As far as I know the 64bit systems with the perfect setups (I would prefer Debian) should run out of the box without problems... however I never had a 64bit sys before but I tend to think *nix on 64bit runs better than windoze.
Old 8th September 2006, 18:14
Super Moderator

Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts

I've tried Debian 64bit, Fedora 64bit, CentOS 64bit, Mandriva 64bit, and SuSE 64bit, and never had problems.

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Old 14th September 2006, 02:26

Hi,

I have installed SuSE, CentOS ( two versions), Fedora 4/5 and Debian and I have never had any type of problems with Linuxes.
The more interesting is that you have Full Native 64bit support on almost all interesting applications running on Linux for at least 3-4 years, on several Linux flavours.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wvsailor
Didn't really know where to put this post, but I'm looking to buy a system to run a *nix based home web-server. I've found a good deal on a box with a MSI motherboard (K9VGMV) and processor (AMD Sempron 64 2800+) (total is less than $500). But from what I'm reading there are problems with 64 bit systems running *nix.
No problems that I am aware of?!?!