Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th August 2006, 12:00
pinz0 pinz0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to pinz0 Send a message via AIM to pinz0 Send a message via Skype™ to pinz0
Default Problem deleting a DOMAIN/WEB/DNS-entry from Server

hi! this is a pretty strange problem i want to post here

history: i made an entry of a domain (a whole web + DNS/A-Record-entries) serveral weeks ago. i was just preparing the domain in ISP-config for the day i would tell my domain-registrar to switch tomy own Nameservers to make the domain available.

several days ago, i deleted this domain in the ISP-config-panel (the reasons why i did this aren't really important...). i cleared the trashcan and the domain + DNS-entries dissappeared from the ISP-config panels. OK.

so, today i wanted to create the web-services wthin ISP-config for the same domain again, but for some reason the ISP-config doesn't want to create the depending DNS-entries (A-records) for the domain. they just don't get listed in the DNS-manager next to all my other 8 domains.
i thought that i might try to delete the domain trough the ISP-config panel again, just to check my server via command line if the web really was deleted. for any purpose the web + domain is still listed next to the other domains in my /home-directory (where i put all my webs).

so, this is my problem in a nutshell: i can create a domain again on the server (that was already created by ISP-config before and also deleted) but the DNS-entries won't be created, if i create a web with the same domain again. i've really deleted everything from the panel and also emptied all trashcans including the trashcan from th DNS-manager.

this might be a strange description of my problem, but i really can't retrace this strange behaviour of my system.

does anyone had similar problems before??

i really would be grateful for any information!
best regards!
__________________
___________________
pinz0 - working on ubuntu 6.06 + ispconfig
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 25th August 2006, 12:47
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,697
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,319 Times in 4,172 Posts
Default

Please search for the domain in the dns manager with the search function. Can you create the dns record for the domain dairectly in the dns manager without using the "create DNS" checkboxes in the isp manager?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th August 2006, 11:40
pinz0 pinz0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to pinz0 Send a message via AIM to pinz0 Send a message via Skype™ to pinz0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Please search for the domain in the dns manager with the search function. Can you create the dns record for the domain dairectly in the dns manager without using the "create DNS" checkboxes in the isp manager?
actually i found the DNS-records with the search function, but it is impossible to delete them! something is pretty wrong here..
maybe it has smthg to do with the ISP-config-update which i did a week ago?
__________________
___________________
pinz0 - working on ubuntu 6.06 + ispconfig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th August 2006, 12:47
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,697
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,319 Times in 4,172 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinz0
maybe it has smthg to do with the ISP-config-update which i did a week ago?
I dont think so.

Did you get any error messages when you try to delete the dns record?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th August 2006, 15:30
pinz0 pinz0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to pinz0 Send a message via AIM to pinz0 Send a message via Skype™ to pinz0
Default

NO error messages. i search for the "unvisible"=not listed DNS-record in the DNS-Manager, find one, delete it and then it is still there when i search for the record again.
__________________
___________________
pinz0 - working on ubuntu 6.06 + ispconfig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th August 2006, 15:34
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,697
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,319 Times in 4,172 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinz0
NO error messages. i search for the "unvisible"=not listed DNS-record in the DNS-Manager, find one, delete it and then it is still there when i search for the record again.
Please check all recycle bin's in the dNS-Manager if the dns record is now listed there.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th August 2006, 15:51
pinz0 pinz0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to pinz0 Send a message via AIM to pinz0 Send a message via Skype™ to pinz0
Default

really, i checked that –*all bins are empty.
i search for the domain (masters) in the DNS Manager.
it shows me the domain, but this domain isn't listed in the left collumn where usually all DNS-entries are displayed.

5 minutes ago i tried not to delete the entry of this DNS-record but to edit it!
it is not possible to edit the "lost" DNS-entry because ISPconfig says that i use a wrong IP-adress, which in fact isn't true.

i can't delete or edit this DNS-entry and also can't create a new one for this specific domain.

hmm..
__________________
___________________
pinz0 - working on ubuntu 6.06 + ispconfig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25th September 2006, 12:15
pinz0 pinz0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to pinz0 Send a message via AIM to pinz0 Send a message via Skype™ to pinz0
Default

hey people, please help me!

this problem isn't solved yet.
i can't delete the SOA-entry because it isn't visible in the ISP-Config DNS-Panel, as the the whole DNS-information isn't visible! if i try to set a new Master-DNS for this one domain, then ISP-config tells me that this SOA-entry is existing!!! (???)

WHY!?!
this whole issue seems to be a bug.

may i delete this entry via command-line somewhere??
would be great to get some hints..
thanks in advance.
__________________
___________________
pinz0 - working on ubuntu 6.06 + ispconfig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25th September 2006, 12:23
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,697
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,319 Times in 4,172 Posts
Default

You must empty the recycle bin in the dns manager!
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25th September 2006, 12:33
pinz0 pinz0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to pinz0 Send a message via AIM to pinz0 Send a message via Skype™ to pinz0
 
Default

i've already posted that i have emptied every single trashcan that is in ISP-config available.
the DNS-entry isn't listed in the DNS-panel, BUT (!!!!!!!) it is still there, because i can find it via the search-function in the DNS-panel.
__________________
___________________
pinz0 - working on ubuntu 6.06 + ispconfig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
postfix problems with smtp linkdeb Server Operation 13 15th March 2014 17:58
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 10:01
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.