Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd August 2006, 06:04
nightsbird nightsbird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default IP and DNS Setup troubles

Okay i have a followed the tutorial perfect fedora core 3 setup. and installed ipsconfig. I want the ispconfig server also to be the primary dns server. in the ispconfig it lists the ip as the private network ip and gives room for other ips below. when creating a new site ( actually the www part of server1.example.com) so that www.example.com is an account) do i use the internal ip or external ip and do i add the external ip to the list and use it when setting up?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd August 2006, 06:14
jarrell jarrell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightsbird
Okay i have a followed the tutorial perfect fedora core 3 setup. and installed ipsconfig. I want the ispconfig server also to be the primary dns server. in the ispconfig it lists the ip as the private network ip and gives room for other ips below. when creating a new site ( actually the www part of server1.example.com) so that www.example.com is an account) do i use the internal ip or external ip and do i add the external ip to the list and use it when setting up?
Try using internal and see if it works, if not try then to use the external!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd August 2006, 10:37
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,717
Thanks: 820
Thanked 5,322 Times in 4,175 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightsbird
Okay i have a followed the tutorial perfect fedora core 3 setup. and installed ipsconfig. I want the ispconfig server also to be the primary dns server. in the ispconfig it lists the ip as the private network ip and gives room for other ips below. when creating a new site ( actually the www part of server1.example.com) so that www.example.com is an account) do i use the internal ip or external ip and do i add the external ip to the list and use it when setting up?
Do not enter the external IP address in the ISPConfig server preferences.

You must select the internal IP address for the website and enter the external IP address in the DNS-Manager for the domain. You can not use the create DNS and MX checkboxes in the website settings in your scenario.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd August 2006, 15:01
nightsbird nightsbird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So i have to manually configure MX and A records etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th August 2006, 16:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Yes, with ISPConfig's DNS Manager.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th August 2006, 17:05
nightsbird nightsbird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

okay i guess im missing something then they have mx records , a records and ns records and my domain name has been pointed to the name servers for several days. the actual dns has been up since yesterday. how long before i can type in example.com and it actually take me there
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th August 2006, 17:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Please post your real domain name here, and I'll check it.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th August 2006, 16:15
nightsbird nightsbird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

xg3d.com is the domain

I switched it to a ubuntu server install for speed of installation i an behind a router what ports need to be forwarded i think that may be my problem
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th August 2006, 20:17
mmidgett mmidgett is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mooresville, North Carolina - USA
Posts: 112
Thanks: 5
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Ports are 80,81,443,21,25,110,22
These are the most common ports that should be forwared to your machine
80 Web
81 Web
443 SSL ?
21 FTP
25 Mail
110 Mail
22 SSH

Correct me if I am wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th August 2006, 20:39
nightsbird nightsbird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

thanks, 3306 is mysql, is bind 53. forwarded all of those but it still has access issues
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.