Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st August 2006, 21:59
PortMan PortMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Create a Subdomain

I have ISPConfig installed and working. Now, I want to create a subdomain but an not clear on all the steps required to do it.

I have my domain registered at GoDaddy.

Currently, I have www.domain.com configured at GoDaddy using "Total DNS Control" manager. How do I create http://dev.domain.com on my server and point GoDaddy to it?

I see the "co-domains" on the ISPConfig tab, and can create the "dev.domain.com" but then what? It doesn't create a folder for me to upload to. Can someone explain to me the steps?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd August 2006, 07:38
tommytomato tommytomato is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 129
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PortMan
I have ISPConfig installed and working. Now, I want to create a subdomain but an not clear on all the steps required to do it.

I have my domain registered at GoDaddy.

Currently, I have www.domain.com configured at GoDaddy using "Total DNS Control" manager. How do I create http://dev.domain.com on my server and point GoDaddy to it?

I see the "co-domains" on the ISPConfig tab, and can create the "dev.domain.com" but then what? It doesn't create a folder for me to upload to. Can someone explain to me the steps?

Thanks.
So did you find out how to create a subdomain, I'm in the same boat as you, queit new to ISPconf.

This ISPcong is alot different to what I was using.

TT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd August 2006, 07:45
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,388
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,485 Times in 4,317 Posts
Default

Subdomain (in ISPConfig named co-domain) points always to the same folder then the website it belongs to. To point it to another location you can enter the directory where it shall point to in the options of the co-domain.

If you want your subdomain to have a own root folder, just create a new website for the subdomain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd August 2006, 14:39
tommytomato tommytomato is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 129
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Subdomain (in ISPConfig named co-domain) points always to the same folder then the website it belongs to. To point it to another location you can enter the directory where it shall point to in the options of the co-domain.

If you want your subdomain to have a own root folder, just create a new website for the subdomain.
Thanks, I've been at it for a while now and cant make heads or tails out of it.

This ISPconfig is way out of my league for now, I'll stick to the easyier stuff, thanks for the support.

TT
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd August 2006, 13:08
torusturtle torusturtle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 21
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to torusturtle Send a message via AIM to torusturtle
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PortMan

Currently, I have www.domain.com configured at GoDaddy using "Total DNS Control" manager. How do I create http://dev.domain.com on my server and point GoDaddy to it?

I see the "co-domains" on the ISPConfig tab, and can create the "dev.domain.com" but then what? It doesn't create a folder for me to upload to. Can someone explain to me the steps?

Thanks.
In ISPConfig add a Co-Domain
with Hostname "dev" and Domain "domain.com"
To point it to another directory switch to forward and type in "dev".
You should then create a directory "dev" within the "web" directory on your server.

To point to it the DNS should contain a CNAME of "dev.domain.com" and be directed to "domain.com"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th December 2006, 23:47
poba poba is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PortMan
I see the "co-domains" on the ISPConfig tab, and can create the "dev.domain.com" but then what? It doesn't create a folder for me to upload to. Can someone explain to me the steps?
I have the same problem.

I created co-domain, also created folder with same name, but still can't get the right result when I type the address in web browser. Why?

Tilen

Quote:
<VirtualHost 192.168.1.100:80>
ServerName www.puran.si:80
ServerAdmin webmaster@puran.si
DocumentRoot /srv/www/web12/web
ServerAlias forum.puran.si puran.si
DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 index.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /srv/www/web12/cgi-bin/
AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
AddHandler cgi-script .pl
ErrorLog /srv/www/web12/log/error.log
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
<Files *.php>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php3>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php4>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php5>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
php_admin_flag safe_mode Off
AddType text/html .shtml
AddOutputFilter INCLUDES .shtml
AddType application/vnd.wap.wmlscriptc .wmlsc .wsc
AddType text/vnd.wap.wml .wml
AddType text/vnd.wap.wmlscript .ws .wmlscript
AddType image/vnd.wap.wbmp .wbmp
Alias /error/ "/srv/www/web12/web/error/"
ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
ErrorDocument 403 /error/forbidden.html
ErrorDocument 404 /error/fileNotFound.html
ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /srv/www/web12/user/$1/web/$3
AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /srv/www/web12/user/$1/web/$3
RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^forum\.puran\.si [NC]
RewriteRule ^/(.*)$ http://www.puran.si/forum/$1 [R]
</VirtualHost>
#
#
#

Last edited by poba; 13th December 2006 at 00:39.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th December 2006, 10:40
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,388
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,485 Times in 4,317 Posts
Default

Co-domains never create folders, they where a alias for the main domain. If you want to have a separate filder, create a new website instead of a co-domain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th December 2006, 11:23
poba poba is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Co-domains never create folders, they where a alias for the main domain. If you want to have a separate filder, create a new website instead of a co-domain.
Hi,

I have domain www.puran.si. I also have folder forum in it www.puran.si/forum/. I want to create subdomain forum.puran.si so i can type this address insted of www.puran.si/forum.

Tilen
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13th December 2006, 13:50
poba poba is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Maybe this is the problem. My friends can't see www.puran.si. I can (from my computer). ?!?!??!

Thanks, Tilen
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13th December 2006, 14:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
 
Default

The A record for www.puran.si is pointing to a local IP address:

Code:
dig www.puran.si

; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> www.puran.si
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 24727
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.puran.si.                  IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.puran.si.           86400   IN      A       192.168.1.100

;; Query time: 142 msec
;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
;; WHEN: Wed Dec 13 14:41:26 2006
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 46
This means that nobody from outside your local network can see your web site. You must use the server's public IP address in the DNS record.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chrooted SSH apps bkrausz Tips/Tricks/Mods 14 29th August 2006 23:32
ISPConfig 2.3.1-dev SubDomain andypl General 3 2nd July 2006 13:58
Using a subdomain as mail server roberto8080 Installation/Configuration 7 21st June 2006 01:50
Subdomain with Webspace nsm Installation/Configuration 1 13th June 2006 10:39
Install stopped at: create clamav.tar.gz domino Installation/Configuration 2 16th August 2005 06:36


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.