#1  
Old 7th October 2013, 13:46
Quaxth Quaxth is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Samut Prakan, Thailand
Posts: 440
Thanks: 48
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Quaxth
Question [SOLVED] Nameserver and ISPConfig 3

I realized that the Nameservers in DNS Zone automatically set to the Domain used like
Code:
ns1.mydomain.com
ns2.mydomain.com
Now I use the Nameservers of my Registra which differs from the one in ISPConfig 3, would it be OK so or wise to change the Nameservers in ISPConfig to the Registra Nameserver?

Thanks.
__________________
*************
Have a nice day.

Last edited by Quaxth; 8th October 2013 at 14:48.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th October 2013, 13:54
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

If you use the nameserver of your registrar, then you do not add any data in the ispconfig dns module as your dns server is not authoritive for the domain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th October 2013, 13:58
Quaxth Quaxth is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Samut Prakan, Thailand
Posts: 440
Thanks: 48
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Quaxth
Default

Would that mean that I should change the Nameserver at Registra to the Nameserver of my domains as used in ISPConfig?

Thanks.
__________________
*************
Have a nice day.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th October 2013, 14:05
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
Would that mean that I should change the Nameserver at Registra to the Nameserver of my domains as used in ISPConfig?
No.Juts leve the settings as they are at your registrar and delet all dns records that you created in ispconfig. To run your own nameservers, you need2 servers on 2 different IP addresses.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th October 2013, 14:11
Quaxth Quaxth is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Samut Prakan, Thailand
Posts: 440
Thanks: 48
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Quaxth
Default

Just to be clear:
I delete all Nameservers from DNS Zone?

Leave the other records as they are?

Thanks.
__________________
*************
Have a nice day.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th October 2013, 14:13
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

No, you delete the complete dns zones in ispconfig. The zones are not used when you use the nameservers of your domain registry. If you dont delete them while using the nameservers of your reqgitrsy might confuse apps installed locally on your server by providing them wrong dns records.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th October 2013, 14:18
Quaxth Quaxth is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Samut Prakan, Thailand
Posts: 440
Thanks: 48
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Quaxth
Default

Will that deletion have any effect to the now running send and receive e-mail?

Thanks
__________________
*************
Have a nice day.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 7th October 2013, 15:55
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

If you use the dns server of your provider, then the local dns srvers are not used anyway, so this has no affect on your mail setup.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
Quaxth (7th October 2013)
  #9  
Old 8th October 2013, 13:51
Quaxth Quaxth is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Samut Prakan, Thailand
Posts: 440
Thanks: 48
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Quaxth
 
Talking

OK, had change the server already with an full new installation of both Debian Wheezy and ISPConfig 3.

All domain are set on Registra Nameserver and not any DNS Zone inside of ISPConfig 3. SMTP (Send Mail) is set to the Relay of my ISP and that's working fine now. I tested with 5 different Domains from 3 Registra's and all went well till now.

To transfer the regular Domains to ISPConfig I'll have to that on Weekends, mainly at Sunday's, because of those 24h those domains maybe no visible on the Internet.

Thanks a lot to Till for his help to get everything up and running!

Regards.
__________________
*************
Have a nice day.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Quaxth For This Useful Post:
till (8th October 2013)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Own Primary Nameserver - ISPConfig 3 - Glue-record/which IP danhansen@denmark Installation/Configuration 0 7th April 2013 02:28
Does second nameserver also need ISPConfig. Showa Installation/Configuration 18 6th December 2010 12:33
Run your own nameserver with ISPConfig 3 and a Godaddy Domain dpicella HOWTO-Related Questions 12 23rd August 2010 19:20
running own nameserver & ispconfig 3 killerwake Installation/Configuration 8 5th March 2010 17:23
ISPConfig & Nameserver StevenD General 32 28th November 2008 14:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.