Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Tips/Tricks/Mods

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd June 2007, 23:43
pierrepont pierrepont is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb "Shared IP" error message: the SOLUTION

Like MANY of you, I have also been PLAGUED by this pesky IP SHARED error, that I see in the boards a lot of people are having.

I'm not a technical guy at all, so I don't know the "why" about any of this, but I HAVE THE SOLUTION for the SHARED IP BLUE SCREEN of DEATH:

ISP Manager --> Sites --> YourDomain.com --> Co-Domains

click on the IP address listed under Co-Domains, it takes you to --> ISP Domains

Once in the "ISP Domains" section, GET RID OF THE 'www' in the "Hostname", which is the first field there. LEAVE THE HOSTNAME FIELD EMPTY, and click save.

Go back to your domain, and you will see the IP SHARED problem is GONE.

Enjoy

PS: why the heck in one screen is mandatory to enter 'www' in the Hostname department and it's deadly in another, I don't know. Why does it work with the hostname field empty, I don't know. I would make a note on the program itself as a "tip"of those little things... I can imaqine a lot of people were turned off by ISP Config due to IP SHARED and another pesky, baffling errors. Which is a shame because it's a GREAT piece of software, and it's open source, etc.

Last edited by pierrepont; 3rd June 2007 at 23:48.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th June 2007, 10:03
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,001
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,650 Times in 4,460 Posts
 
Default

The method mentioned above is not nescessary at all as this co-domain is created automatically by ISPConfig. The poster has set the domain limit too low so that ISPConfig was not allowed to add the nescessary co-domain Thats all.

Quote:
PS: why the heck in one screen is mandatory to enter 'www' in the Hostname department and it's deadly in another, I don't know. Why does it work with the hostname field empty, I don't know. I would make a note on the program itself as a "tip"of those little things... I can imaqine a lot of people were turned off by ISP Config due to IP SHARED and another pesky, baffling errors. Which is a shame because it's a GREAT piece of software, and it's open source, etc.
The www is not manadatory for co-domains, just for websites. The co-domain is added automatically if you dont set the limit too low. This has also been explained in many posts here in the forum.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Shared IP" page again - why? bmwpingvinen Installation/Configuration 6 31st January 2007 15:35
"Shared IP" Message and Fragmented Vhost.conf files! bpmee Installation/Configuration 6 23rd September 2006 23:37


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.