Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st September 2005, 12:36
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,259
Thanks: 76
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Default ispconfig structure

hi guys,

I will explain first how I understood the situation I am referring to and then I will post the question.

all "services" like phpmyadmin interface and webmail interface are served on http(s)://mydomain:81/phpmyadmin etc.

Now I noticed some users are accessing their resources from work and behind firewalls, so many are getting the error
Code:
Access Denied (connect_method_denied)

Your request attempted a CONNECT to a port "81" that is not permitted by default.
This is typically caused by an HTTPS URL that uses a port other then the default of 443.
so I thought to transfer those "services" to the actual apache2 installation. First I guess I would need to find the code for it in httpd.conf and transfer it to apache2.conf

How would I go ahead and change the links inside ispconfig so when they click phpmyadmin they go straight to http(s)://theirdomain.com/phpmyadmin ?

And by the way I just realized that in order to click phpmyadmin the must already have accessed port 81 any idea if I could also serve the ispconfig on a normal port 80 i.e. by http(s)://config.theirdomain.com

Any ideas ? has anyone ever thought about this? What is your opinion ? I think I should at least provide a separate acces to webmail via port 80 se ppl can at least check their mails from work
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st September 2005, 13:43
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Please have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=157
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st September 2005, 14:12
heyp heyp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vienna
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
I think Tenaka wanted to migrate the ISPconfig Webserver configuration to the Apache 2 installation.
Quote:
so I thought to transfer those "services" to the actual apache2 installation. First I guess I would need to find the code for it in httpd.conf and transfer it to apache2.conf
Is that possible?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st September 2005, 14:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heyp
I think Tenaka wanted to migrate the ISPconfig Webserver configuration to the Apache 2 installation.

Is that possible?
I've never tested. I think a lot of files would need to be changed... And another thing to consider is: If your main Apache fails, you won't be able to access ISPConfig anymore...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st September 2005, 14:41
heyp heyp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vienna
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

He could install phpMyAdmin and a webmail script to any created host so users behind a firewall could access their files/mails.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st September 2005, 15:18
farao farao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Or he could use *pound* to do a sort of virtual hosting and redirect admin.domain.tld:80 to ispconfig.domain.tld:81

Gosh, I like pound. I've got the same firewall-issue, and if you've got a lot of domains, it's not funny to have to update every instance of phpmyadmin and webmail with every release. Of course, there's also the possibility to point users to a site at port 80 where you host a phpmyadmin and webmail for all user-domains.

Anyway, my .02
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd September 2005, 14:07
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,259
Thanks: 76
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Default

pounf sounds good, BUT!

the ispcfg server listening cannot listen on port 80 as that would block the actual apache2 listening for all the domains... I can only get through the firewall on port 80 with http and 443 with https ... Now if pound is listening on 443 that will not allow me to have anything listening on that port as well...

seems like no solution for me but after googling for pound it sounds like a nice tool
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd October 2005, 06:04
dianer dianer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dover, PA, USA
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i set up ispconfig following the manual's instructions.....when setting it up, there is a section in the general setting for server settings.....it asks for the domain name under which the ispconfig system can be reached....i've entered the domain name, but now when i entered the ip address of the server in the ip address section and save everything, it won't bring up ispconfig when i type www.candlevolt.com:81 what am i doing wrong? do i need to enter the public ip 206.xxx.xxx.xxx?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd October 2005, 06:28
dianer dianer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dover, PA, USA
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Another question

Quote:
Originally Posted by dianer
i set up ispconfig following the manual's instructions.....when setting it up, there is a section in the general setting for server settings.....it asks for the domain name under which the ispconfig system can be reached....i've entered the domain name, but now when i entered the ip address of the server in the ip address section and save everything, it won't bring up ispconfig when i type www.candlevolt.com:81 what am i doing wrong? do i need to enter the public ip 206.xxx.xxx.xxx?

In other words, how can I get www.candlevolt.com:81 to resolve to 192.xxx.xxx.xxx?

Also, how the heck do I add a site that is the web site of the administrator of the entire server? Does the administrator also have to be a reseller and a client to simply add a site? If so, isn't that a bit redundant?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd October 2005, 06:47
dianer dianer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dover, PA, USA
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default figured it out.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by dianer
In other words, how can I get www.candlevolt.com:81 to resolve to 192.xxx.xxx.xxx?

Also, how the heck do I add a site that is the web site of the administrator of the entire server? Does the administrator also have to be a reseller and a client to simply add a site? If so, isn't that a bit redundant?
We figured this out on our own......it seems that if there is a router in the mix, you need to make sure that port 81 is opened.....also, the name servers must be set up correctly....unfortunately, nothing was mentioned in the manual about the port enabling......sorry to take up space, but hey, when there's a question, who better to go to than the ones that know the answers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HowTo start developing ISPConfig till Developers' Forum 18 25th April 2014 20:43
ISPConfig 2.0.9 released till General 41 16th October 2005 17:49
Can't access ISPConfig by http://...:81 driftguy Installation/Configuration 7 14th September 2005 14:47
ISPConfig 2.0.8 released till General 6 29th August 2005 10:43
Changing values on ISPConfig installation Luciano Installation/Configuration 4 16th August 2005 23:32


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.