Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 23rd May 2007, 13:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Ok, can you post the output of
Code:
ls -la /var/named/chroot/var/run/named/
ls -la /var/named/chroot/var/run/
ls -la /var/named/chroot/var/
ls -la /var/named/chroot/
ls -la /var/named/
?

Did you disable SELinux?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #32  
Old 23rd May 2007, 17:15
zenny zenny is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 178
Thanks: 21
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

The SELinux is disabled.

The outputs, as you asked for, are:

# ls -la /var/named/chroot/var/run/named/
total 8
drwxrwxrwx 2 named named 4096 May 13 09:22 .
drwxrwxr-x 3 root named 4096 Mar 14 2003 ..

# ls -la /var/named/chroot/var/run/
total 12
drwxrwxr-x 3 root named 4096 Mar 14 2003 .
drwxrwxr-x 5 root named 4096 Mar 14 2003 ..
drwxrwxrwx 2 named named 4096 May 13 09:22 named


# ls -la /var/named/chroot/var/
total 20
drwxrwxr-x 5 root named 4096 Mar 14 2003 .
drwxrwxr-x 6 root named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 ..
drwxrwxr-x 4 root named 4096 Aug 25 2004 named
drwxrwxr-x 3 root named 4096 Mar 14 2003 run
drwxrwx--- 2 named named 4096 Mar 14 2003 tmp

# ls -la /var/named/chroot/
total 20
drwxrwxr-x 6 root named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 .
drwxr-xr-x 5 root named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 ..
drwxr-xr-- 2 root named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 dev
drwxr-x--- 2 root named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 etc
dr-xr-xr-x 95 root root 0 May 22 20:43 proc
drwxrwxr-x 5 root named 4096 Mar 14 2003 var

# ls -la /var/named/
total 20
drwxr-xr-x 5 root named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 .
drwxr-xr-x 19 root root 4096 Nov 19 2006 ..
drwxrwxr-x 6 root named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 chroot
drwxrwx--- 2 named named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 data
drwxrwx--- 2 named named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 slaves
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 24th May 2007, 18:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

The permissions are ok...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 24th May 2007, 19:51
zenny zenny is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 178
Thanks: 21
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Dear Falko:

Do you think this is a problem without any ends? Actually I have been struggling for months to make it work. I scanned through several threads in this forum, but in vain. So, I decided to post it here, again there does not seem any light in the horizon. :-(

I queried with dnsreports.com and it shows everything okay (green) except the internal DNS server unreachable.

Since I am learning myself to create my own datacenter (at home), I need to learn the basics myself rather than having someone help me out. Else, the amount of time I spend is more dearer than having someone to do the setup.

I wish with the help of experts here, I am optimistic that I could overcome the problem. Z
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 25th May 2007, 16:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

You could post your real domain name here so that I can run a few tests myself.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 25th May 2007, 16:51
zenny zenny is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 178
Thanks: 21
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Falko: the domain is:

aristoli.com

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 26th May 2007, 20:31
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

It seems you haven't even set up namservers for your domain:

Code:
mh1:~# dig ns aristoli.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> ns aristoli.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 57646
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;aristoli.com.                  IN      NS

;; Query time: 5009 msec
;; SERVER: 213.191.92.84#53(213.191.92.84)
;; WHEN: Sat May 26 19:25:09 2007
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 30
Your domain registrar should have a web interface where you can specify nameservers. Please do that. Afterwards, at least the nameservers should show up, and we are a step further.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 26th May 2007, 23:21
zenny zenny is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 178
Thanks: 21
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

That is already done from the very beginning. The whois gives the following:

Quote:
Domain servers in listed order:
ns2.freeregistrar.net
ns1.aristoli.com
Note that ns1.aristoli.com is assigned the IP address of the ISPconfig server. I don't see any other changes that can be made except assigned the two nameservers or create a child nameserver on the domain registrar's control panel. If there is anything specific. let me know. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 27th May 2007, 17:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

If you want to host aristoli.com on ns1.aristoli.com, you need a glue record: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dns#Cir...d_glue_records
http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_...domain_schlund
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 27th May 2007, 20:52
zenny zenny is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 178
Thanks: 21
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
 
Default

Dear Falko:

Thank you for your instructions. If I understand right the glue records are created in domain as the primary and secondary nameservers by creating child namservers. Which I did earlier or did I miss something? And a test at dnsreport.com states that the glue records were created and the test passes as attached below (http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/dnsrep...aristoli.com):

Quote:
PASS Glue at parent nameservers OK. The parent servers have glue for your nameservers. That means they send out the IP address of your nameservers, as well as their host names.
And the problem, in my novice opinion, is the result of the not-running BIND server? You know the best, indeed!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can't access the admin interface, apache lost the conf? Esuk Installation/Configuration 7 24th July 2006 12:35
Adding domains to non-ISPConfig secondary DNS servers cstone Tips/Tricks/Mods 4 19th July 2006 15:25
Postfix and fully qualified domain name threeten HOWTO-Related Questions 2 15th March 2006 22:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.