Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th June 2013, 15:22
ginner159 ginner159 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Silsden, UK
Posts: 116
Thanks: 29
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Question Configuring a multi-server setup - name-server

hi all,

ive just got a new 128mb vps which i'm using for a secondary name server.

I have installed Debian 6 64bit minimal install (overkill for small ram but just to keep everything the same ) and noticed upon first update it had apache2 installed.

I have been using the create your own DNS tutorial:
http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-run...debian-squeeze
but just for adding to my existing server running ispconfig 3.

What im wondering is, would i be ok to remove Apache from the name-server box without it messing anything up also what else would you recommend to remove or tune up?

cheers
matt
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th June 2013, 16:56
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,007
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
What im wondering is, would i be ok to remove Apache from the name-server box without it messing anything up also what else would you recommend to remove or tune up?
dont remove pache, just stop it so it does not use resources:

/etc/init.d/apache2 stop
update-rc.d -f apache2 remove
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th June 2013, 17:43
ginner159 ginner159 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Silsden, UK
Posts: 116
Thanks: 29
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Ok cheers. Anything else you can think of to tweek?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th June 2013, 19:33
ginner159 ginner159 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Silsden, UK
Posts: 116
Thanks: 29
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

would i be right in thinking i can stop sendmail?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th July 2013, 05:55
id10t id10t is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
 
Default

128mb of ram is plenty for basic web, mail, etc. My first VPS was 32mb and over the years linode has upgraded me so I now have 1gb ram for my $20/mo. Transfer has gone from 200mb to 2tb, and cpu speed has gone up.

But I still create LOTS of 32mb and 64mb servers in virtualbox to set up lab exercises for my students. They work fine.
__________________
I'm a very happy linode.com customer, I'm sure you will be too!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
apache 2, isp config 3, multi server setup, name server

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sending email issue lezelf Installation/Configuration 15 9th August 2011 12:20
Debian 5 Ajax error + network interface always shutting down ev0css Installation/Configuration 3 5th June 2010 13:58
amavis & ispconfig 3 yalex2000 Installation/Configuration 20 18th February 2010 18:02
subdomain and mail relay configuration aranthorn Installation/Configuration 24 3rd September 2007 23:53
Problems with Postfix Mysql Courier PatrickAdrichem Installation/Configuration 3 13th April 2007 16:44


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.