Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > ISPConfig 3 Priority Support

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 8th July 2013, 00:49
craig baker craig baker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default ISPCONFIG and DNS AND Another Question! Having fun.

I think I was just not waiting long enough - it does update the allow-transfer fields in named.conf.local.

Till - I see instructions for incorporating Roundcube with ISPCONFIG 3 and Wheezy (Debian). I dont see such instructions for Centos 6.4 - and (to be honest) I dont want to screw up the install...

could you check them and see what we need to install with Centos 6.4? I'd paypal you an extra donation
I see it uses apt-get but dont want to use that if it fails or causes other problems.

what should we try to get RoundCube up and going?

also - somewhat of an annoyance - my server shows no issues, but I'm getting the odd 30-60 second inability to get ISPCONFIG to update a screen.
I'm not sure if its verizon (FIOS) or something else - can you think of a way to check what might be doing this? I recently moved a server to my house and switched ISP. is there anything out there for centos that might detect some intermittent DNS failure that lasts 30-60 seconds and then clears up?
additional donation would be appropriate
cdb.

ps LOVE ISPCONFIG. Really. super nice software.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 8th July 2013, 08:03
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,408
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

There is a ispconfig roundcube package available which should work on any Linux distribution:

https://github.com/w2c/ispconfig3_roundcube/wiki/_pages

It is installed trough the ISPConfig extensuion installer. If thats not an option for you or not what you want for your server, I can check the debian guide.

Quote:
also - somewhat of an annoyance - my server shows no issues, but I'm getting the odd 30-60 second inability to get ISPCONFIG to update a screen.
I'm not sure if its verizon (FIOS) or something else - can you think of a way to check what might be doing this? I recently moved a server to my house and switched ISP. is there anything out there for centos that might detect some intermittent DNS failure that lasts 30-60 seconds and then clears up?
additional donation would be appropriate
cdb.
You man the ispconfig screen hangs in the browser? Or dou you mean that it takes up to 30 seconds until changes are written to disk (config files)?

ISPCofig is a asynchronous system, the server process is independant from the interface as it is built to scale for large setups with many servers. So the server process queries the interface / master server every 60 seconds for changes. But this just means that it takes up to 60 seconds to write changes to disk, it does not mean that the interface hangs or does not react.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 8th July 2013, 18:57
craig baker craig baker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default roundcube install

Ok i'll give that a try - it includes the ISPCONFIG3 plugins?

and the 30-60 seconds is the browser hanging which is ridiculous when I'm in my home and the server is 10 feet away.

not sure if its a server problem or an internet/router/wireless problem. tuff to see where to start!
but the server logs dont seem to show any unusual behaviour
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 8th July 2013, 19:02
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,408
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Quote:
Ok i'll give that a try - it includes the ISPCONFIG3 plugins?
yes.

Quote:
and the 30-60 seconds is the browser hanging which is ridiculous when I'm in my home and the server is 10 feet away.
Any errors in the global apche error.log file? Such hanging pages can also be caused by name resolution problems. e.g. try to add a line for the hostname of the server (or whatever domain you use to access the controlpanel) in the hosts file of your desktop pc. If the server is behind a router, the the internal and external IP in the hosts file.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 8th July 2013, 19:58
craig baker craig baker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default roundcube install

I'm installing as per instructions - which are not quite right there is no 'servers' tab but the packages tab I found and it says 'install now' so I clicked on it and now it says 'installation in progress' how long should it take?

also dont see the roundcube.conf file you say get it from github where is it?
cdb.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 8th July 2013, 19:59
craig baker craig baker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default roundcube install

oh - after doing the 'package' install do I still need some of the manual install instructions? does it create the remote user itself? or do I need to do those after the package install is complete?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 8th July 2013, 20:37
craig baker craig baker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default roundcube getting close

I found a roundcube.conf in another install and modified it sufficiently I think:

but when I log into:
https://www.myserver.com:myport/webmail
the roundcube signon appears but no server name is available
and entering a valid account and pw gets 'invalid server name'

any ideas?


--snip-- roundcube.conf as entered
# RoundCube alias and redirect functions
Alias /webmail /var/www/apps/roundcube
<Directory /var/www/apps/roundcube>
Options +FollowSymLinks
# This is needed to parse /var/www/webmail/.htaccess. See its
# content before setting AllowOverride to None.
AllowOverride All
order allow,deny
allow from all
</Directory>
# Protecting basic directories:
<Directory /var/www/apps/roundcube/config>
Options -FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride None
</Directory>
<Directory /var/www/apps/roundcube/temp>
Options -FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride None
Order allow,deny
Deny from all
</Directory>
<Directory /var/www/apps/roundcube/logs>
Options -FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride None
Order allow,deny
Deny from all
</Directory>
<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
<IfModule mod_ssl.c>
<Location /webmail>
RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTPS} !^on$ [NC]
RewriteRule . https://www.myserver.com:myport/webmail/ [L]
</Location>
</IfModule>
</IfModule>
--snip--
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 8th July 2013, 21:17
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,408
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Quote:
oh - after doing the 'package' install do I still need some of the manual install instructions?
No. The package is self containing and you access the application trough the apps site which is a custom vhos listening on port 8081 by default.

Quote:
does it create the remote user itself?
yes.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 8th July 2013, 21:33
craig baker craig baker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default roundcube install

do you specify the servername as part of the url? not seeing where it would be indicated
cdb.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 9th July 2013, 00:11
craig baker craig baker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
 
Default roundcube server url

I mean the url to identify the server name to associate with login and password?
it does use the ISPCONFIG3 database right?
with squirrelmail you had to add a ?servername=xxx.com to the url when you visited the server.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Centos 6.4: Fresh Install Shows Apaches Test Site Alisnasyon Installation/Configuration 8 13th May 2013 16:52
Regarding ISPConfig 3.0.5.1 / CentOS 6.4 Tutorial midcarolina Installation/Configuration 3 2nd April 2013 17:40
CentOS 6.4 x86_64 - ISPConfig 3.0.5.1 - RKHunter Errors Hairy Installation/Configuration 0 22nd March 2013 19:35
CentOS 6.4 x86_64 - ISPConfig 3.0.5.1 - Amavis Errors Hairy Installation/Configuration 0 22nd March 2013 17:16
All files gone after changing quota to 0 spynode General 17 19th January 2012 14:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.