Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th May 2013, 05:15
pcurran pcurran is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 50
Thanks: 11
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Client's DomainLogo showing up at Ispconfig's LoginPage?

Hi All,
1. Is it possible to have the client's domainLogo showup at the login page of ISPconfig before he/she logs in (confirmation)?
Is such feature needed? If not, please give a reason?

2. Is it better to have the client's username be the same as his/her Company's name? Please give a better suggestion, from your experience?

thank you.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th May 2013, 10:54
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,769
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,609 Times in 4,420 Posts
Default

Quote:
1. Is it possible to have the client's domainLogo showup at the login page of ISPconfig before he/she logs in (confirmation)?
Is such feature needed? If not, please give a reason?
If there is just one client on this ispconfig system, then you can set the logo in the config.inc.php file. If there are multiple clients on that systen, then its impossible at all as a software can not guess who is sitting in front of a computer before he is logged in.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
monkfish (30th May 2013), pcurran (3rd June 2013)
  #3  
Old 30th May 2013, 19:17
monkfish monkfish is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 106
Thanks: 9
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
software can not guess who is sitting in front of a computer before he is logged in.
heh, sorry till for sniggering, but that's good!

Quote:
Is it better to have the client's username be the same as his/her Company's name? Please give a better suggestion, from your experience?
OP - do you have any security policy with respect to your server operation? Best practices etc might involve using not easily guessable names/passwords.

Security through obscurity isn't the answer but perhaps by using usernames the same as company/domain names you would effectively be giving away 50% of what is required to login. Its trivial to reverse lookup sites hosted on a given address and if a format were known by, eg "bad user" already existing on your system they could exploit that to their advantage. Only my thoughts.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to monkfish For This Useful Post:
alexeyttsy3922 (2nd June 2013), pcurran (3rd June 2013)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A few questions on client's modules and limits dimas Installation/Configuration 10 10th January 2011 21:22
Can't Ping over VPN RoMiONeT Server Operation 2 4th July 2010 01:19
Clients not all showing voidzero Installation/Configuration 4 9th October 2009 13:22
Accessing clients web without domain wicht General 3 10th August 2007 12:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.