#1  
Old 13th August 2006, 16:13
asyadiqin asyadiqin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default VNC Under Fedora Core 5

Have anyone successfully configured VNC under FC5? I need help configuring VNC on my server. I can't seem to find any HOWTOs or guides on how to configure the VNC server.

Where I can I download the VNC clients for Windows and Mac? Any tips, pointers, assistance, etc.. is greatly appreciated.

Regards,

A. Syadiqin
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th August 2006, 10:57
Destroyer Destroyer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default Basic VNC How to FC5

I have a working VNC setupon FC5:

Here is where to downlaod windows & Mac clients
http://www.realvnc.com/
No need for server side it is installed by default in FC5,

Logon to FC5 using the logon you wish to access via VNC
Edit /etc/sysconfig/vncservers and add these lines

VNCSERVERS="3:$username" (***change $username to your logon name***)
VNCSERVERARGS[3]="-geometry 1024x768 -depth 16"

If you wish to give more users the ability to connect via VNC add them like this

VNCSERVERS="2:$username 3:$username3 4:$username4"
VNCSERVERARGS[2]="-geometry 1024x768 -depth 16"
VNCSERVERARGS[3]="-geometry 800x600 -depth 8"
VNCSERVERARGS[4]="-geometry 1024x768 -depth 16"

As you may have noticed you can adjust screen resolution perconnection here!
Note: the number assigned to thge desktop is relative to the connection port on the server so if you where $username3 you would set VNC client to connect on port 5903

Now in terminal under the users logon type # vncpasswd enter required Note: This password this is different to the FC5 password

Then goto the users home directory /home/leopard/.vnc and edit the xstartup script and uncomment these lines (remove hashes infront of the line)

unset SESSION_MANAGER
exec /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

Then set the vncserver status o to start service at boot by this command

# chkconfig vncserver on

then restart vncserver with this command

# service vncserver restart

Make sure that your required ports are open and then you should be able to connect.

Note: dont forget your port number when connecting with vnc client
__________________
Hope this helps

Destroyer
http://www.lacomputers.com.au
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Perfect Setup - Fedora Core 4 british.assassin Server Operation 9 21st February 2008 17:29
Postfix + Fedora Core 5 64Bit - Problem GrBase HOWTO-Related Questions 5 7th August 2006 13:41
php4-cgi with apt-get on Fedora Core 3 rbartz Installation/Configuration 2 27th July 2006 08:51
Phpbb plus and fedora core 5 widean Installation/Configuration 9 12th July 2006 23:28
Fedora Core 5.0 and SimplyMepis gtoman Installation/Configuration 2 10th July 2006 20:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.