Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th August 2010, 02:40
whacked whacked is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How to determine IP address of Apache

I just installed Apache, mysql and php5, following this tutorial
http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...suse-11.3-lamp created by Falco
it even mentions about IP may not being the same as listed in tutorial, but how do i go about determine what ip address is correct
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th August 2010, 04:10
Polk Polk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 84
Thanks: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Polk Send a message via MSN to Polk
Default

By default most likely it will be your server IP and port 80
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th August 2010, 13:44
whacked whacked is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default thanks for responce

really don't find that response very helpful, I only want to test from my own machine, just like in instruction posted about how to set up apache at this website http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...suse-11.3-lamp using an Internal device ip 192.168.... blah blah. what server i have no server set up yet
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th August 2010, 13:46
whacked whacked is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default only running apache from routerback to PC

i am not access the internet at this time, like having a domain name
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th August 2010, 13:48
whacked whacked is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default to be honest POLK

I find the response totally useless, not sure why you would even bother to respond with such vague information. and yes of course we browser work on port 80, not that really needed in configuration but thanks for pointing that out
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th August 2010, 13:50
whacked whacked is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default thinking it might be limitations of Router

Using a ISP supplied Router/modem speedstream 6520
i
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th August 2010, 14:20
Polk Polk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 84
Thanks: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Polk Send a message via MSN to Polk
Default

take it easy a little and sorry I didn't understand your question. You can find out your External IP address by going to sites like this:
http://www.whatismyip.com/

If you want to know your internal IP address, you can check it here:
/etc/network/interfaces (ubuntu, debian)
Centos:
/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0

hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th August 2010, 14:31
whacked whacked is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default yes Thans Polk

sorry for being unkind , but the external ip whatmyip just redirects me to my router, and the 2 scripts you provided do not work, my fault for telling you i am using opensuse 11.3
I have run apache successfully on windows, but having bad luck just even getting started on linux
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th August 2010, 14:42
Polk Polk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 84
Thanks: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Polk Send a message via MSN to Polk
Default

Those are not scripts, but paths where to check with your favorite text editor (vi, nano)

Also check here:
/etc/httpd/conf

you would go there by command:
Code:
cd /etc/httpd/conf
then type:
Code:
ls
this folder has the Apache settings.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th August 2010, 14:48
whacked whacked is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default really bad luck

none of the last steps provided worked, i suppose to do this from terminal correct ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sending mail ISPConfig 3 but not receivind catza Installation/Configuration 20 19th May 2010 12:47
Cannot send or receive mail farbrorc Installation/Configuration 6 24th January 2010 11:56
CGI and FormMail Cracklefish Installation/Configuration 17 13th October 2009 13:40
problems with suexec gobokster Installation/Configuration 7 7th May 2009 13:33
Centos 4.4 32bit Hangs, High Server load 3cwired_com Server Operation 11 16th November 2006 15:47


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.